Skip to main content

Administration and Staff

Office of the Dean

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Dean | Director, designLAB | Professor 
713.743.2400
poliver@uh.edu

Dietmar Froehlich, Ph.D., RA
Associate Dean | Professor
713.743.2385
dfroehlich@uh.edu

Trang Phan
Assistant Dean
Admissions and Academic Advising Services 
Director of Student Affairs and Development 
713.743.3463
trangphan@uh.edu

Stephen Schad
Executive Director of Communications
713.743.2539
saschad@central.uh.edu

Avani Dave
Director of College Business Operations
713.743.6347
ajdave@central.uh.edu

Sarah Holloway
Director of Alumni Relations
713.743.7014
smhollo2@central.uh.edu

Emily Brents
Director of Advancement
713.743.7906
ekbrents@uh.edu

Debbie Lozano
Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
713.743.2366
dlozano@uh.edu

Cynthia Romero
Administrative Assistant to the Associate Dean
713.743.9797
cfromero@uh.edu


Business Office

Nhu-Thuy Mai
Department Business Administrator
713.743.2369
ntmai2@central.uh.edu

Nancy Do
Financial Coordinator II
713.743.3522

Hector Abercrombie
Coordinator, Department HR/Payroll II
713.743.5877
habercrombie@uh.edu

Linda Silva
Administrative Coordinator
713.743.2400
hdsilva@central.uh.edu 


Student Services Office

Academic Advisor II
The position is currently vacant. Please contact Assistant Dean Trang Phan for assistance.

Academic Advisor II
The position is currently vacant. Please contact Assistant Dean Trang Phan for assistance.


Student Support Resources

Antonio Farias
Manger, College/Division Information Services II
713.743.2274
anfarias@central.uh.edu

Daniela De La Cruz

User Services Specialist I
713.743.8261
ddelacr2@Central.UH.EDU

Catherine Essinger
Library Coordinator and Associate Librarian
William R. Jenkins Architecture & Art Library
713.743.2337
cwessinger@uh.edu

Aaron McEuen
Coordinator, Keeland Design Exploration Lab
713.743.9287
armceuen@central.uh.edu

Zachary Brinkman
Coordinator, Model Shop, Keeland Design Exploration Lab
713.743.2274
zbbrinkman@uh.edu


Marketing and Communications

LA Maxwell
Web Developer II & Graphic Designer 
713.743.7965
llmaxwell@uh.edu

Destiny Vaquera
Graduate Assistant for Communications
dvaquer2@cougarnet.uh.edu


Academic Directors and Coordinators

Graduate Architecture

Gail Peter Borden, FAIA                   
Director, Graduate Studies | Professor
713.743.4114
gborden@uh.edu

Jason Logan
Graduate Coordinator, Module I | Instructor
jlogan@uh.edu

Patrick Peters                              
Coordinator, Graduate Design Build Module II | Associate Director DesignLAB; Professor
713.743.2387
ppeters@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA                     
Graduate Coordinator, Module III | Associate Professor
713.743.2398
mjohnson13@uh.edu

Rafael Longoria, ACSA Distinguished Professor                
Graduate Coordinator, Module IV | Director Atrium Press | Professor
713.743.8490
longoria@uh.edu


Undergraduate Architecture

Rafael Beneytez-Duran, Ph.D.                
Director, Undergraduate Architecture | Associate Professor
Coordinator, Undergraduate Architecture Intermediate Level
713.743.2386
rbeneytez-duran@uh.edu

Jason Logan
Coordinator, Undergraduate Architecture Foundation Level | Instructor
jlogan@uh.edu

Patrick Peters, RA, LEED AP                              
Coordinator, Integrated Architectural Solutions | Associate Director DesignLAB; Professor
713.743.2387
ppeters@uh.edu

Gail Peter Borden, FAIA                   
Director, Graduate Studies | Professor
Coordinator, Undergraduate Architecture Professional Level
713.743.4114
gborden@uh.edu

Tom Diehl, AIA                                
Co-Coordinator, Undergraduate Technology Sequence | Associate Professor
713.743.2376
tdiehl@uh.edu

Rives Taylor, FAIA                           
Co-Coordinator, Undergraduate Technology Sequence | Adjunct Associate Professor
rtaylor2@uh.edu

Andrew Kudless                                      
William D. Kendall Professor of Design Technologies
Director, Advanced Media Technology Lab
Coordinator, Design Media
713.743.8080
ajkudles@central.uh.edu

Michael Kubo, Ph.D.                     
Undergraduate Coordinator, History and Theory of Architecture and Design | Assistant Professor
713.743.6653
mkubo@uh.edu

Vera Adams                                      
Undergraduate Coordinator, World Cities Minor | Adjunct Associate Professor
713.743.2405
veraadams@uh.edu

Geoffrey Brune, FAIA                      
Coordinator, 20th Century Preservation | Professor
713.743.2381
gbrune@uh.edu


Industrial Design

Director, Industrial Design 
The position is currently vacant.


Interior Architecture

Alan Bruton, RA CID                        
Director, Interior Architecture | Associate Professor
713.743.9312
apbruton@uh.edu


Programs

Bruce Race, PhD., FAIA, FAICP     
Director, Sustainability and Resilience | Professor
713.743.2389
barace@uh.edu

Susan Rogers                                   
Director, Community Design Resource Center | Associate Professor
713.743.2403
srogers@uh.edu