Skip to main content

History | 1950-1959

1946-1949 Button  1950-1959 button 1960-1969 button 1970-1979 button 1980-1989 button 1990-1999 button 2000-2009 button 2010-2019 button 2020-2021 button home button

1946 feature photo

1950 — The College is awarded national accreditation to only five days before the first graduating class takes the state board exams. The College of Pharmacy also is the first professional program at UH to earn national accreditation. 

1952 — UHCOP graduates its first female students, with five women in the Class of 1952. 

1950-1959 — Ferguson expands the teaching and research faculty with advanced degrees in the pharmaceutical sciences. Among the college's earliest full-time faculty members were Sue Rouse, M. George Webber (who would go on to serve a pivotal role in the formation of Professional Compounding Centers of American, now PCCA Rx), Don Kroeger, Ruth Kroeger, Martha Jane Jones, Gail Stapleton, Robert L. Boblitt Sr., and Homer Lawrence. 

Several alumni from the 1950s went on to serve on the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, including Roy Wiese (’54), Taylor Jobe (’54), and Doyle Harrell (’56), and president of the Texas Pharmacy Association, including George Webb (’51), Ed Baker (’59), Charles Atkinson (’56) and Martha Atkinson (’56).