Skip to main content

Academic Departments

Pharmacy Practice & Translational Research


Chair: Kevin W. Garey, M.S., Pharm.D., FASHP, FIDSA, FCCP, Robert L. Boblitt Sr. Endowed Professor

The Department of Pharmacy Practice and Translation Research includes 30 faculty members dedicated to improving human health by advancing the principles, science and practice of pharmaceutical care. With its renowned clinical and research faculty, dedication to serving the community, and affiliation with the prestigious Texas Medical Center, the department is an international leader in providing quality education for its professional students.

Mission and Goals

The mission of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Translational Research is to:

  • Advance research and development in the fields of pharmacy and pharmacy administration to enhance the safe and effective delivery of pharmaceuticals and pharmaceutical care; and
  • Prepare pharmacists and health service administrators/researchers to use their knowledge and skills to improve patient care, add value to their business or institution and strengthen their communities.

PPTR Home Page

Department Faculty Directory | Department Staff Directory

Pharmacological & Pharmaceutical Sciences


Chair: Greg Cuny, Ph.D., Joseph P. & Shirley Shipman Buckley Endowed Professor of Drug Discovery

The Department of Pharmacological and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy and its faculty have a long tradition of excellence in scholarship, research and teaching. PPS faculty and staff members are committed to delivering quality education to professional (Pharm.D.), graduate (Ph.D.) students and postdoctoral fellows.

As a member of the Texas Medical Center for more than 30 years, UH College of Pharmacy and its PPS faculty, staff and students have established strong, highly productive teaching, research and scholarship collaborations with fellow members of the world-renowned TMC.

PPS Home Page

Department Faculty DirectoryDepartment Staff Directory

Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes & Policy


Chair: Rajender R. Aparasu, Ph.D., FAPhA, Mustafa & Sanober Lokhandwala Endowed Professor

The Department of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy consists of faculty members who conduct pharmaceutical health outcomes research with emphasis on pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacoeconomics, comparative effectiveness research, patient-centered outcomes research, population health, and translational research.

In addition to providing instruction for portions of the college's Pharm.D. professional degree program, department faculty members offer graduate education leading to the Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy Concentration of the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Pharmaceutical Sciences. The Ph.D. program prepares students for research and leadership positions in pharmaceutical industry, clinical research organizations, academia, and state and federal agencies.

PHOP Home Page

Department Faculty Directory | Department Staff Directory