Staff Scholarship & Leadership - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Staff Council Programs

Staff Council offers UH staff members various scholarships, professional development programs and leadership development opportunities.

Staff Council programs provide a sense of unity, pride and achievement that empower the University of Houston’s community in its journey to the next milestone of excellence together.

  • Support Staff Scholarship and Professional Development

    Staff Council scholarships are made possible by continuous support from the President's Office and fellow staff members.  

    You can pledge to the scholarship and professional development reimbursement funds online by visiting UH Gives Back or by submitting the Faculty/Staff Donation form for payroll deduction.

    Give to 

    • Staff Council Rodger Peters Staff Scholarship-HC68051RN
    • Staff Professional Development-HC54402RN
    • Students of Staff Scholarship-HC54401RN
  • Staff Scholarship Listserv

    Your full name:

    Your e-mail address:

2021-2022 Scholarship Award Recipients

  • Staff Council B. Renae Milton Students of Staff Scholarship

    Mandy Q. Pham

    Nutrition, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

  • Staff Council Scholarships

    Maricela Barrientos

    Administrative Assistant, CLASS

    Major: M.Ed., Higher Education, College of Education


    Anneliese Bustillo

    Director, Women and Gender Resource Center

    Major: Higher Education Leadership & Policy Studies, College of Education


    Xaymara Garza

    Digital Content Strategist, Strategic Initiatives

    Major: Marketing, C. T. Bauer College of Business


    Alanna Khubieh

    Program Coordinator, Academic Services

    Major: Art Leadership, Kathrine G. McGovern College of the Arts


    Lan Chi Nguyen

    Sr. Research Lab Administrator, College of Optometry-Visual Optics Institute

    Major: Professional Leadership in Health Science, College of Education


    Melissa Nieto

    Academic Advisor III

    Major: Public Administration, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


    Dina Padovan

    Police Sergeant, UH Police Department

    Major: Master of Social Work, Graduate College of Social Work


    David Salazar

    Power Plant Electrician, Central Plants, Facilities Services

    Major: Electrical Engineering, Cullen College of Engineering


    Nancy Sanger

    Assistant Business Administrator, College of Pharmacy

    Major: Social Work, Graduate College of Social Work


    Kirstyn Speich

    Project Manager, Alumni Relations

    Major: Mass Communications, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


  • Women & Gender Resource Center Advisory Committee Scholarships

    Candace Guy R. Anzaldua

    Financial Assistant, Physics Department

    Major: English, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


    Tala Hasbini

    Director of Assessment and Accreditation Services

    Major: PhD in Higher Education Leadership and Policy Studies, College of Education


    Caroline S. Neary

    Senior Research Analyst, Undergraduate Student Success

    Major: PhD in Higher Education Leadership & Policy Studies, College of Education


    Giovanni C. Rosselli

    Director of Alumni Relations, C.T. Bauer College of Business

    Major: Master of Public Administration, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences


    Stanley Saldana

    Assistant Stationary Engineer, Facilities Services

    Major: Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics


2019 Leadership Awards

  • Rebecca Szwarc Group Award

    Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management Business Office

    This award is named in honor of our former colleague Rebecca Szwarc, who worked tirelessly to make this special recognition happen. This award is given to a department, office, area, committee or other work group that demonstrates high performance in delivering their designated service or on a special project, event or activity. 

  • President's Awards

    Innovation: Grace Rosanes, Assistant Director, Division of Research

    Community Service: Karl Hearne, Executive Administrative Assistant, Neighborhood and Strategic Initiatives

  • President's Excellence Awards (formerly Staff Excellence)

    Effective Leader:
    Kristen Guiseppi, Director, Pre-Law Pipeline Program, University of Houston Law Center
    Frank Kelley, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Business Programs, C.T. Bauer College of Business
    Asha Thomas, Director of Student Affairs, C.T. Bauer College of Business

    Administrative Professional:
    Jacqueline Chee, Accountant 3, State Appropriation Accounting
    Maggie Mahoney, Learning Abroad Advisor, Learning Abroad
    Caroline Watkins, Assistant Business Administrator, Department of Psychology

    Virginia Chandler, Financial Assistant 2, Educational Testing Services
    Spencer Cook, Vendor ID Supervisor, Accounts Payable
    Elaine Fiala, Executive Secretary, Health Law & Policy Institute

    Tech, Service & Craft:
    Roderick Alexander, Facilities Services Lead, Facilities Services
    Carla Tisby, Facilities Dispatch Supervisor, Facilities Services
    Dwight Wilkins, Refuse Collector Driver, Solid Waste