NSM 40th Anniversary - University of Houston
Skip to main content

NSM 40th Anniversary

NSM 40th Anniversary

The academic year 2016–2017 marked the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics’ 40th Anniversary. Prior to 1976, NSM was part of the College of Arts and Sciences.

NSM 40th Anniversary Gala – April 8, 2017

NSM 40th Anniversary Gala

Dr. Carolyn Farb, NSM Legacy Award Recipient
NSM Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

Honorary Chairs
May P. Chu, Ph.D., & Paul C. W. Chu, Ph.D.

Master of Ceremonies
Dominique Sachse, Anchor, KPRC-TV, Channel 2


Nancy Kralik (M.S. ’82), In Memory of Jerry Kralik (’82)
UH Seq-N-Edit Core


Lydia & James Chao, In Honor of Drs. Paul & May Chu
Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Controlled Environmental Structures
Dr. Carolyn Farb, In Loving Memory of My Son, Jake Kenyon Shulman
John W. Gibson Jr. (M.S. ’90)
Linda Sagarnaga Magill, M.D. (’79) & Patrick Magill (’77)
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics
Susan & Eric Stotzer, Ph.D. (M.S. ’95, Ph.D. ’10)
Texas Center for Superconductivity at UH


Department of Biology & Biochemistry
Katy Caldwell (’78)
Department of Chemistry
May P. Chu, Ph.D., & Paul C. W. Chu, Ph.D.
Barbara Clark & Edgar A. Bering III, Ph.D.
Kelly Coleman, M.D. (’98)
Department of Computer Science
Cyndi & Greg DeAtkine (’92, M.B.A. ’98)
Louis Green, M.D. (’47)
Liz Hunsaker, D.D.S. (FS ’80)
Debbie & James Mayhan, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’13)
Nancy (’86) & Joseph B. Melenric (’83)
Cicely Mitchell (O.D. ’87) & Rushion McDonald (’83)
Kathy O’Keefe, D.D.S. (’81) & Keith Herrin, D.D.S.
Rikki Raflo, Ph.D. (’94)
Rosemary Rodd (’73)
Helene Schwartz, M.D., & Robert J. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Eva (’87) & Dan E. Wells, Ph.D.
Patrice O. Yarbough, Ph.D. (’80, Ph.D. ’85) & Carl Yarbough (’85)
Yuhuang Chemical Inc.
State Representative & Mrs. John Zerwas, M.D. (’77)

Additional Contributors

Shana Bauman
Roberto & Claudia Contreras
Imperial Transportation Services, Inc.
John W. Neese, Ph.D. (M.S.’10, Ph.D. ’15)
Salvador J. Sedita, Ph.D. (M.S. ’66, Ph.D. ’80)

Honorary Chairs

May P. Chu, Ph.D., & Paul C. W. Chu, Ph.D.

Impact Gala Committee

Carol & Randy Barta (’76)
Katy Caldwell (’78)
Melba & Jerry Colca, Ph.D. (’72, M.S. ’74, Ph.D. ’80)
Cyndi & Greg DeAtkine (’92, M.B.A. ’98)
Mary Connors, D.C., & Rob Adams (’73)
Nancy Kralik (M.S. ’82)
Veronique & Olivier Lhemann, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’86)
Linda Sagarnaga Magill, M.D. (’79) & Patrick Magill (’77)
Kathy O'Keefe, D.D.S. (’81) & Keith Herrin, D.D.S
Janis Porter & Stephen Naber, M.D., Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’74)
Susan & Eric Stotzer, Ph.D. (M.S. ’95, Ph.D. ’10)
Leslie & Alan Wong (’91, M.S. ’94)

Event Photos

The Celebration

To celebrate the 40th anniversary, NSM held a gala honoring 12 distinguished alumni who have excelled in their fields and brought great accolades to the College. The Legacy Award was also presented to Dr. Carolyn Farb.

The Cause – NSM Student Learning Commons

NSM currently has the fourth largest enrollment at UH, yet we do not have a central hub where our students can study, collaborate on projects or attend seminars and tutorials. Dean Dan E. Wells is committed to providing our students with a place to call home.

Funds raised during the 40th Anniversary Gala will be used to partially fund the construction and furnishing of this unique space for our students.