Skip to main content

Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office

The Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office supports and educates the UH research community in all areas of compliance with federal regulations concerning human subjects, animal subjects, conflicts of interest, grant congruency, and responsible conduct of research.

Staff

Kirstin Holzschuh is the Executive Director of the Research Integrity and Oversight (RIO) Office. With an initial background in research and over 15 years of research administration experience, Holzschuh oversees the University’s two Institutional Review Boards (IRBs), the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC), the Conflict of Interest Committee (COIC), and serves as UH’s Responsible Conduct of Research (RCR) Coordinator.
kmholzschuh@uh.edu
713-743-9740

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Dr. Thomas Todd
IACUC Veterinarian
tetodd@uh.edu
713-743-4051

Alison Powell
Research Compliance Specialist (IACUC)
apowell864@.uh.edu
713-743-5956

Conflict of Interest/RCR

Penny Maher
Research Compliance Specialist (COI)
plmaher@uh.edu
713-743-9255

Grant Congruency/RCR

Dr. Laura Gutierrez
Senior Compliance Specialist
lgutierrez@uh.edu
713-743-1897

Institutional Review Boards

Dr. Danielle Griffin
IRB Associate Director
dgriffin5@uh.edu
713-743-4057

Alicia Vargas
Research Compliance Specialist
avargas2@uh.edu
713-743-9215

Shehla Barlas
Research Compliance Analyst
sbarlas2@uh.edu
713-743-6823

Yolanda Davis
Research Compliance Analyst (IRB 2)
yedavis5@uh.edu
713-743-4063

Maria (Nettie) Martinez
Research Compliance Specialist (IRB 3)
mnmartinez3@uh.edu
713-743-9211