Skip to main content

Student & Alumni News


UHCOP students Salmon Farooqui and Sunny Bhakta, above left, and Melanie Laine and Amy Lenhert, above right, are congratulated by TSHP Student Section Chair Regina Roy for winning the P2 and P4 divisions of the TSHP Clinical Skills Competition. 

Cougars Represent at TSHP Annual Seminar

UHCOP Students, Alumni Secure Individual Awards for Excellence in Leadership, Service, Clinical Skills and Research at Statewide Meeting in Houston

UH College of Pharmacy students and alumni secured a mix of individual awards for excellence in leadership and professional service as well as team awards in the competitive Clinical Skills Competition at the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists 2014 Annual Seminar April 11-13 in Houston. 

In the Clinical Skills Competition sponsored by the TSHP Research & Education (R&E) Foundation, the teams of Melanie Laine and Amy Lehnert and Sunny Bhakta and Salman Farooqui won in the P4 and P2 divisions, respectively. 


TSHP Research & Education Foundation's Steven Pass, Poster Committee Chair, and Sarah Lake-Wallace, President, congratulate Research Poster competition winners, above, Denise Yeung ('12), PGY2 Category, and, below, Yeun-Ju (Michelle) Lee ('13), PGY1 Category, at the TSHP 2014 Annual Seminar.


Current graduate student and Pharm.D. alumna Rusol Karralli ('12), who will complete the concurrent M.S./Residency program this summer, who was honored with the Leo F. Godley and Ann Godley Residency Fellowship Award.   

Several alumni also were honored at the event, including:

Ryan Roux, Pharm.D. ('99), M.S., R.Ph., director of Pharmacy Operations at MD Anderson Cancer Center, was named a 2014 TSHP Fellow; 

Kathryn N. Pidcock, Pharm.D. ('06), BCPS, was named the Lewis S. Smith Pharmacy Practitioner Award recipient; 

Yeun-Ju (Michelle) Lee, Pharm.D. ('13), a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice resident at Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, won the Research Poster Competition-PGY1 Category for her project, "Effectiveness of Protocol Guided Heparin Anticoagulation in Patients with TandemHeart Percutaneous Ventricular Assist Device";

Denise Yeung, Pharm.D. ('12), a PGY2 Ambulatory Care resident at Parkland Health & Hospital System in Dallas, won the Research Poster Competition-PGY2 category for her project, "The Use of Low Health Literacy Flashcards and Mobile Video Reinforcement to Improve Medication Adherence"; and

Julie Liska, Pharm.D. ('12), clinical pharmacist at Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital, won the Research Poster Competition-Practitioner/Clinical category for her project, "Impact of Pharmacist Intervention in Discharge Reconciliation Process on Medication Errors and Core Measure Failures."