da Vinci Society - University of Houston
Skip to main content

da Vinci Society

University of Houston’s College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics established the da Vinci Society in 2018 to honor donors for their extraordinary philanthropic support of the College. The Society recognizes individuals with a cumulative lifetime giving level of $100,000 or more, or who have included NSM in their estate plans at a minimum of $100,000.

The Society is named for Leonardo da Vinci, an interdisciplinary genius and possibly the greatest inventor of all time. Each donor inducted into the da Vinci Society has played a transformative role in the development of NSM — just as da Vinci did for modern art and science.

Red Jacket Distinction

In 2020, the UH College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics established the Red Jacket Distinction (marked with * below) to honor daVinci Society donors who have a cumulative lifetime giving of $1 million or more to the College. Each donor has the option to receive a commemorative red blazer that they can proudly wear to UH events.

Inductee - 2023

Liz Schwarze

Inductee - 2022

Emily Kracklauer

Inductees - 2021

Katy Caldwell (’78)
Halina Caravello, Ph.D. (M.S. ’85) and Joseph Caravello
Kathleen and Fred Hilterman, Ph.D.
Virginia Leigh Hollyer (’88, M.S. ’92) and Joe Webb (’71)
Karen Love, Ph.D. (M.S. ’85, Ph.D. ’90) and Alex Woronow, Ph.D. (M.S. ’73)
Janis Parsley, R.Ph., M.B.A. (’82) and Georges Mirza
Peggy and John Prugh (’89)
Harry Skewes, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’66)*
Chin-Sen Ting, Ph.D.
Patrice Yarbough, Ph.D. (’80, Ph.D. ’85) and Carl Yarbough (’85)

Inductees - 2020

Anita L. Cheung (’76) and Edson H. Cheung, M.D. (’76)
Barbara Clark and Edgar Bering, Ph.D.
Kelly Coleman, M.D. (’98)
Janet and Kenneth Hogstrom, Ph.D. (’70)
Nancy Kralik (M.S. ’82)
Eva (’87, M.S.W. ’21) and Dan E. Wells, Ph.D.
Louis Wu (’71, M.B.A. ’83)

Inductees - 2019

Shwu-Hui Lee and Dean Chang
Agnes Kuen Chu and Wei-Kan Chu, Ph.D.
Willis King, Ph.D.
Veronique and Olivier Lhemann, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’86)
Lisa Milam (M.S. ’90)
The Honorable Wilhelmina E. “Beth” Robertson
Alton K. Schultz, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’79)

Inaugural Members - 2018

Mary Connors, D.C., and Robert A. Adams (’73)
Barbara (’83) and Bill Barnes*
Carol and Randall A. Barta (’76)
May P. Chu, Ph.D., and Paul C. W. Chu, Ph.D.*
Gary A. Feuerbacher, Ph.D. (M.F.A. ’71, Ph.D. ’74)
Donna and Stephen Greenlee
Karl M. Kadish, Ph.D.
Marion and Jay K. Kochi, Ph.D.
Marcy and Robert Lawless, Ph.D. (’64)
Peter V. Lomonte (’52)
Linda Sagarnaga Magill, M.D. (’79) and Patrick Magill (’77)
The Honorable John J. Moores (’70, J.D. ’75) and Dianne Moores, M.D.*
Patsy and Oliver Murray (’60)
Saeeda B. and S.S. Newaz, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’73)
Thelma and Richard Percoco (M.S. ’64)
Rikki C. Raflo, Ed.D. (’94)*
Rosemary S. Rodd (’73)
Susan and Pat Rutherford
Helene Schwartz, M.D., and Robert J. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Margaret and Robert Sheriff, Ph.D. *
Susan Shrader, Ph.D. (M.S. ’68, Ph.D. ’70) and Robert W. Shrader
Fred Stutzenberger, Ph.D. (M.S. ’65)
Joan Suit, Ph.D. and Herman Suit, M.D., Ph.D. (’48) *
Elsa Tansey, D.P.H, and Michael Tansey (’65)
Randolph P. Thummel, Ph.D.
Carolyn and Alton “Jerry” Warren (M.S. ’65)
Leslie and Alan Wong (’91, M.S. ’94)
Xiaobing Song, Ph.D. (M.B.A. ’02, Ph.D. ’93) and Chaoliang Yao, Ph.D. (Ph.D. ’87)

* Red Jacket Distinction