Teaching & Research Assistants - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Teaching & Research Assistants

Research Assistants and Teaching Assistants are listed here along with their major, advisor, and e-mail address. If you note any incorrect information, please visit the EAS Office Support Ticket System.

Teaching Assistants

 Ahmed, Morshad 
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Bernhard Rappenglueck 
Thesis:  
Email: mahmed31@uh.edu  
Office: SR1, Rm. 426L

 Akther, Tanzina 

Curriculum Vitae

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Bernhard Rappenglueck
Thesis:
Email: takther@uh.edu

Albright, Ronald

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Xun Jiang
Thesis: TBD
Email: rjalbright@uh.edu
Office: SR1, RM 416

 Anderson, Hannah
MS Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Jack Casey 
Thesis:  
Email: hranderson@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm.   

Bernier,Claudia

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: Synthesis analysis of multi-dimensional ozone measurements in coastal environments toward improving ozone simulation and advancing geostationary satellite products
Email: cmbernie@uh.edu
Office: SR1, RM 413A

yiwei.jpg Chen, Yi-Wei
Ph.D. in Geology 
Advisor: Jonny Wu
Thesis: Quantitative links between mantle structure, plate tectonics and dynamic topography along the Andean and Caribbean convergent
Email:  ychen99@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 233

ellencreecy.png Clark, Rachel 

Curriculum Vitae

Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Julia Wellner
Thesis: Reconstructing past dynamics of Thwaites Glacier, West Antarctica using marine sediment cores, bathymetry, and shallow seismic data.
email:  rwclark2@central.uh.edu
Office SR1 303

Comas, Michael

M.S. Geology
Advisor: Julia Wellner
Thesis:
email:  rmcomas@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office SR1 303

ellencreecy.png Creecy, Ellen

Curriculum Vitae

Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisors: Dr. Xun Jiang and Dr. Liming Li
Thesis: Temporal Variations of Titan’s Radiant Energy Budget and Comparative Studies Between Titan and Earth
Email: eccreecy@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 416

Easley, Daniella Gutierrez
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Adry Bissada 
Thesis: Quantitative analysis of carbazole molecules and evaluation of their stability throughout individual petroleum system elements 
Email: dngutierrez@uh.edu       
Office: SR1, 127
 Gadea, Otto
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Shuhab Khan 
Thesis:  
Email: ocgadea@uh.edu        
Office: SR1, Rm. 

 Ghosh, Avradip

Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Evgeny Chesnokov 
Thesis: Influence of Viscosity on Seismic Characteristics
Email: aghosh5@uh.edu         
Office: SR1, Rm. 

 Griggs, Philip (Travis)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang  
Thesis:  Mesoscale Transport of Air Pollutants in Metropolitan Houston  
Email:ptgriggs@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 413
Haider, Halina
M.S Geology
Advisor: Dr. Shuhab Khan
Email:hhaider@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office: SR1 234A
 Hu, Hongru
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Aibing Li 
Thesis:  
Email: hhu@uh.edu          
Office: SR1, Rm. 

kerl jacob Kerl, Jacob
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Lorenzo Colli
Thesis: Solving the Inverse Geoid with Neural Networks
Email: jikerl@cougarnet.edu
Office: N/A

Klovenski, Elizabeth

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: Simulating the effects of hydroclimate stress on BVOC-chemistry-climate interactions in GISS ModelE
Email: eklovenski@uh.edu
Office: SR1, 413A

lianjiang.jpg Jiang, Lian

Ph.D, Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Extracting rock/fluid properties from seismic data
Email: ljiang13@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 136
Jia_Jung  Jung, Jia
Curriculum vitae

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: Aerosol-meteorology interaction
Email: jjung10@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm. 414

jackkenning.jpg Karim, Irfan 

Curriculum vitae

Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Dr. Bernhard Rappengluck 
Thesis:  
Email: ikarim2@uh.edu
Office: 

 Li, Linhan
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Jack Casey 
Thesis:  
Email: li44@uh.edu            
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Li, Xinyan
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Jiajia Sun 
Thesis:  Maximizing the value of geophysical data through 3D mixed Lp joint inversion and geology differentiation with application to mineral exploration in the QUEST project area 
Email: xli31@uh.edu           
Office: SR1, Rm.126
 Li, Zhehao
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Hua-Wei Zhou 
Thesis:  
Email: zli43@uh.edu            
Office: SR1, Rm.
 Liu, Guibao
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Hua-Wei Zhou 
Thesis:  
Email: gliu13@uh.edu             
Office: SR1, Rm.
Tabitha LeeLee, Tabitha 
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: TBD
Email: tclee3@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 426H
 Long, Teng
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. De-Hua Han 
Thesis: NA
Email: tlong4@uh.edu             
Office: SR1

Momeni, Mahmoudreza (Semko)

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: TBD
Email: mhrzmomeni@uh.edu

Office: SR1, Room 426AA

Moreira Nobrega de Andrade, Carlos Guilherme
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis:
Email: cmoreiranobregadeandrade@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 
sharif_morshed.jpg Morshed, Sharif
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Evgeny Chesnokov
Thesis: Effective elastic properties due to interactions of ellipsoidal inclusions in a random medium with stress
Email: smmorshe@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 123

Mousavinezhad, Seyedali

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: TBD
Email: smousavinezhad@uh.edu
Office: SR1, 414

 Mu, Yang
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. John Castagna 
Thesis:  
Email: ymu2@uh.edu               
Office: SR1, Rm.

claireong.jpg  Ong,  Claire
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Qi Fu 
Thesis: The formation of organic compounds in hydrothermal systems
Email:  caong@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 138

Osibanjo Osibanjo, Olabosipo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D.  Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Bernhard  Rappenglueck
Thesis: Boundary Layer Properties and Implications on Air Quality in Mexico City.
Email:  ooosibanjo@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 414
 Oyetunji, Doyin
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Robert Stewart 
Thesis:  
Email: oooyetunji2@uh.edu                
Office: SR1, Rm.

Park, Jincheol

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: TBD<
Email: jpark56@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 426C

Patterson, Ruby 
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Adviser: Dr. Alan Brandon
Thesis: Testing the Connections Between Shergottite Magma and Mars Crust
Email:  rvpatter@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 338, Desk B

 Qasim, Muhammad

Curriculum Vitae

Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Shuhab Khan 
Thesis:  Study of Rocks and Minerals through remote sensing techniques (tentative)  
Email: mqasim@uh.edu                
Office: SR1, Rm. 234A

 Qureshi, Kamil Ahmed 
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Shuhab. D. Khan
Thesis: Subsurface imaging and tectonics of North West Pakistan 
Email: kqureshi2@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 234B
 Richards, Brent
M.S. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Alan Brandon 
Thesis:  
Email: bcrichards2@uh.edu                
Office: SR1, Rm.
bavand_sadeghi  Sadegi, BavandPh.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis : Atmospheric Chemistry of Ozone and its Precursors
Email : bsadegh2@central.uh.edu
Office : SR1, Rm. 414
   Shahtakhtinskiy, Aydin
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Shuhab Khan 
Thesis:  3D stratigraphic mapping and reservoir architecture using digital outcrop models
Email: agshahtakhtinskiy@uh.edu             
Office: SR1, Rm. 234A

Spike, Alexander

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: TBD
Email: ahspike@uh.edu
Office: SR1, 413A

 Statkewicz, Madeline
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor:  Dr. Bernhard Rappenglueck
Thesis:  Changing Physical Characteristics of Precipitating Systems in Coastal Texas  
Email:  mdstatke@central.uh.edu             
Office: SR1, Rm. 413A

 Stearns, Andrew

Curriculum Vitae (PDF)

M.S. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Julia Wellner
Thesis:  Quantifying Hurricane Harvey Sediment Budget in Galveston-Houston Region
Email: aistearns@uh.edu                 
Office: SR1, Rm. 303

 Tang, Shuhang
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Hua-Wei Zhou 
Thesis:  
Email: stang13@uh.edu                 
Office: SR1, Rm.
 Tao, Zhongmin
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Aibing Li 
Thesis:  Radially anisotropic shear wave velocity structure beneath eastern North America from surface wave tomography
Email: ztao3@uh.edu                 
Office: SR1, Rm. 125A
 Tirmizi, Osman Ali
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Shuhab Khan
Thesis: NA 
Email: oatirmizi@uh.edu                 
Office: SR1, Rm. 234
 Vielma, Ana
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Adry Bissada 
Thesis:  
Email:                 
Office: SR1, Rm.
yinkaiwang.pngWang, Yin-Kai
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Robert Stewart
Thesis:
Email: ywang272@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 140
 Wu, Boming
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Hua-wei Zhou
Thesis: Data-driven seismic attribute extraction
Email:  bwu8@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm. 138
Wu, Yu-Tai
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Robert Stewart
Thesis:
Email:ywu59@cougarnet.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 140
weiyao-yan_headphoto.jpg Yan, Weiyao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jack Casey
Thesis: Plagiogranite
Email: wyan3@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm. 334B
yingzhang.jpg Zhang, Ying
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Aibing Li 
Thesis: Surface wave tomography using multi-mode Love waves 
Email:  yzhang141@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm. 126

Research Assistants

 Agudelo, Gonzalo 
Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Guoquan (Bob) Wang
Thesis:  
Email: gaagudelo@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 

 Ahmad, Mateen 

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Bernhard Rappenglueck 
Thesis: Not decided
Email: mahmad18@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 426L

 Arellano, Lisabeth 
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Emily Beverly 
Thesis:  
Email: arellali@oregonstate.edu  
Office: SR1  
 Barker, Keenan 
Masters Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. JiaJia Sun 
Thesis:  
Email: ktbarker@uh.edu  
Office: SR1  
 Bynum, Kevin 
PhD Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Emily Beverly 
Thesis:  
Email:   
Office: SR1  
  xuezechen.jpg  Chen, Xueze
Ph.D. in Geology 
Advisor: Qi Fu
Thesis: Assessment of environmental variables on generation of oil and natural gases using hydrous pyrolysis 
Email:  xchen55@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 307
 Ding, Yingshuai
Ph.D Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Hua-Wei Zhou 
Thesis:  
Email: excitedexplorer@gmail.com    
Office: SR1  
suoya-fan.jpg Fan, Suoya
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Murphy Michael 
Thesis: Tectonics of the Nepal Himalaya and southern Tibet
Email: sfan2@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm. 336
 Fuston, Spencer
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Jonny Wu 
Thesis:  Tectonics of western North America from structurally restoring subducted slabs.
Email: slfuston@uh.edu     
Office: SR1, Rm. 233
 Gad, Mohamed
M.S. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. John Castagna 
Thesis:  Integrated AVO analysis, seismic inversion and machine learning for de-risking new prospects in the Hutton Sandstone Formation, Onshore Australia.  
Email: mgad@uh.edu      
Office: SR1, Rm. 127
 Ghahremanloo, Masoud
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi 
Thesis:  
Email: mghahremanloo@uh.edu       
Office: SR1
 Hasan, Md Nahidul
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann 
Thesis:  Structure, tectonics and petroleum systems potential of the Campeche salt province, Gulf of Mexico
Email: mhasan11@uh.edu        
Office: SR1, Rm. 427
 Hsieh, Yu-Huan
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor: Dr. John Suppe 
Thesis:   
Email: yhsieh2@uh.edu         
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Jin, Yuesu
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng 
Thesis:   
Email: jinyuesu14@mails.ucas.ac.cn         
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Kim, Jae Deok
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Jiajia Sun
Thesis: Not Decided
Email: jkim109@uh.edu 
Office: SR1, Rm.
Li  Li, Jiaxuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng
Thesis: In situ seismic anisotropy in the source region of global deep earthquakes
Email: jli74@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 129A
 Li, Kenneth
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Jiajia Sun
Thesis:
Email: klihawaii@gmail.com 
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Li, Wei
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: Atmospheric Composition Changes During Droughts in the Continental U.S.
Email: wli38@uh.edu  
Office: SR1, Rm. 413A
 Lin, Rongrong
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng
Thesis:
Email: rlin5@uh.edu  
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Lin, Yi An
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jonny Wu
Thesis:
Email: ylin51@uh.edu  
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Liu, Mei
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis:  Crustal structure, basin evolution, and hydrocarbon potential on the conjugate passive margins of the Gulf of Mexico
Email: mliu24@huskers.unl.edu  
Office: SR1, Rm. 427
 Liu, Yuhao
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Guoquan (Bob) Wang
Thesis:
Email: yliu120@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Liu, Zhonghan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Yingcai Zheng
Thesis:
Email: zliu35@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Lopez, Amanda Mulcan
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Alan Brandon
Thesis:
Email: amlopez16@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Lops, Yannic
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr.Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: Advanced Applications of Deep Learning in Atmospheric Sciences: Remote Sensing, Inverse Modeling, and Air Quality and Weather Forecasting
Email: ylops@central.uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 426C;
 Martinez, Christian
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis:  Petrographical and Geochemical Analysis of Diogenite NWA 10666
Email: camartinez16@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 136
 McQuaig, Devin
PhD Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis: 
Email: drmcquaig@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm.
 Montoya, Maritza
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis: 
Email:    
Office: SR1, Rm.
 Moore, Bryan
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis: 
Email:    
Office: SR1, Rm.
arman_pouyaei.jpg Pouyaei, Arman 
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor:  Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: Development and implementation of numerical models for quantitative PM study, hemispheric transport of air pollutants and AI-based data assimilation  
Email: apouyaei@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 414
 Rahimzadeh Bajgiran, Moloud
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Lorenzo Colli
Thesis:
Email: mrahimzadehbajgiran@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 238
 Robertson, Andrew Paul
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis:
Email: aprobertson@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Romito, Sean
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis:
Email: sromito@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 

 Salman, Ahmed

Curriculum Vitae (PDF)

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis:
Email: aksalman@uh.edu   
Office: SR1, Rm. 

 Saudale, Ellya
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis:
Email:     
Office: SR1, Rm. 
almaqah_sayeed  Sayeed, Alqamah 
Ph.D Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: Integrating Deep Neural Network with Numerical Models to Have Better Weather and Air Quality Forecast Both Spatially and Temporally
Email: asayeed@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 414
  stephanieSuarez.jpg Suarez, Stephanie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Tom Lapen
Thesis:  Lu-Hf, Rb-Sr, Sm-Nd chronology of Martian meteorites 
Email: sesuare2@.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 318E
 Thoram, Sriharsha
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Will Sager
Thesis:
Email: sthoram@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 

Velasco, Maria Eugenia

Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. James Flynn
Thesis: TBD
Email: mevelasc@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm 432G

 Wang, Kuan
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Guoquan (Bob) Wang
Thesis:
Email: kwang28@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 
xiaolongwei.jpg Wei, Xiaolong

Ph.D. Geophysics 
Advisor: Dr. Jiajia Sun 
Thesis: NA 
Email:  xwei7@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 126
tsungjuiwu.jpg Wu,  Wu Tsung Jui 
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Jonny Wu
Thesis: Plate tectonic evolution in western Pacific basin reveal from chronology and geochemistry of arc igneous rocks in the NE Asian margin 
Email:  twu20@uh.edu
Office: SR1, Rm. 233
Yu, Xiao  
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Guoquan (Bob) Wang
Thesis:  
Email: 
Office: SR1, Rm. 
 Zanganeh Kia, Hadi
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: NA
Email: hzanganehkia@uh.edu    
Office: SR1, Rm. 414
 Zhang, Hualing
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis:  Linking tectonics, regional gravity, structure, and depositional response in the Permian Basin, West Texas
Email:  hzhang67@uh.edu      
Office: SR1, Rm. 427