Nomita Bajwa, Pharm.D., Ed.D. - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Nomita Bajwa, Pharm.D., Ed.D.

Nomita Bajwa is the director of Multi-Sector Partnerships and project director for the National Institutes of Health’s Artificial Intelligence/Machine Learning Consortium to Advance Health Equity and Researcher Diversity (AIM-AHEAD) South-Central Hub at UH Population Health.

Bajwa has 30 years of experience in a variety of health care settings, including acute care in hospitals, chronic care in clinics, long-term care and as a consultant for the pharmaceutical industry. For the last 15 years, Bajwa has advocated for a more integrative approach to health care through cross-sector collaboration by creating and implementing the WATCH school recognition program and WELLCON school health conference. Since 2012, WATCH and WELLCON have assisted schools to build a comprehensive health program that includes health fairs, physical activity, nutrition education, stress prevention and substance abuse prevention with an emphasis on cross-sector collaboration within the school and the local health community. This work has been recognized at the national, state, and regional levels and has resulted in significant policy change at the school district level.

She completed her pre-pharmacy work at the College of William and Mary and her pharmacy degree at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy. She then attended the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio where she received her doctorate in clinical pharmacy followed by a hematology/oncology residency at the Audie L. Murphy Veterans’ Hospital. Bajwa also earned a doctorate in education from the University of Houston.

Bajwa has served in several leadership roles, including vice president of community health with the Texas Medical Association Alliance, founding board member of the Fort Bend Community Prevention Coalition, president of the Fort Bend Medical Society Alliance and chair of the Fort Bend School Health Advisory Board. She also serves a volunteer on the Texas School Health Advisory Committee.