Friends of Moores School of Music - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Friends of Moores School of Music Luncheon

Wednesday, November 13, 2024
11:00 A.M. - 1:00 P.M.


Honorary Chair
Jo Dee Wright

Dr. Betsy Cook Weber, Director of Choral Studies 

(Proceeds will benefit the Choral Studies program)


For more information, please contact the Director of Stakeholder Engagement,

Leia Burroughs at

Contact Us

Brian Kai Chin 
Moores School of Music
Director of Moores School of Music

Leia Burroughs
Moores School of Music 
Director of Stakeholder Engagement


Fall Luncheon
Brian Kai Chin

The mission of the Moores School of Music is to provide a comprehensive training program for gifted musicians in one of the finest public university schools of music in the nation.

We have nearly 100 outstanding faculty who come from the Houston Symphony, the Houston Grand Opera, the Houston Ballet, the Metropolitan Opera, the New York City Opera, La Scala, and numerous other of the finest professional music organizations in the world. We have over 600 students from the world over, in fields ranging from music performance to music education to musicology. And we produce over 300 concerts and events annually, on-campus in our three beautiful performance spaces—including the world-renowned Moores Opera House—and off-campus in the city of Houston. The school is a dynamic, exciting place—one that mirrors the vibrant, multicultural, and artistically vital city in which it is located.

We invite you to learn more about the Moores School of Music on our website, pay us a visit, or join us at one of our many public performances.

Brian Kai Chin
Director, Moores School of Music

Friends of Moores School of Music Board

Executive Board 2023-2024

Darlene Clark

President Elect
Donna Shen
Immediate Past Presidents
Jackie & Malcolm Mazow

Vice President, Membership
Jack & Michelle Matzer

Secretary, Recording
Robert Chanon
Secretary, Corresponding
Nancy Willerson

Audience Development Chair, Community Development
Tim Doyle

Alumni Engagement Chair
Cathy Frank

Opera Production Council Chair
Meg Boulware 

Texas Music Festival Council Chair
Jo Dee Wright


Board of Trustees 2023-2024  

Rita Aron Gary Hollingsworth & Ken Hyde
Ann Ayre Alan & Ellen Holzberg
Meg Boulware Mady Kades
Terry Ann Brown Michelle & Jack Matzer
Carla Burns Shirley Rose
Cheryl Byington Richard J. Schmitt
Robert Chanon Helen Shaffer
Drue DaSilva Donna Shen
Dr. Timothy Doyle Rhonda Sweeney
Debbie Feuer Ann Tornyos
Elia Gabbanelli David Voll
Maureen Higdon Beth Wolff

Advisory Board 2023-2024

Christopher Bacon  Karinne McCullough
Tom Becker  Mary Ann McKeithan
Susan Binney Cathy McNamara 
Anne Boss   Jennifer Meyer
Anna Dean 
Kitten and Ron Page
Vicky Dominguez Kusum Patel
Ann Faget   Gary Patterson
Kelli Fein Carroll R. Ray
Cathy Coers Frank
Lillie Robertson
Joyce Frassanito  Kathi Rovere
Mary Fusillo Satoko and Anthony Shou
Diane and Harry Gendel Nancy Strohmer 
Mariglyn & Stephen Glenn Susan Thompson
Beatrice and Gregory Graham Virginia & Gage Van Horn
Deb Happ Carol & Carl Vartian
Gladys Hooker Nancy Willerson
Janis Landry Cyvia Wolff 
Cora Sue Mach   Gay Yellen 

Past Presidents 

Jackie & Malcolm Mazow, 2020-2022

Jo Dee Wright, 2018-2020

Susan Osterberg, 2017-2018

Rhonda Sweeney, 2015-2017

Beverly Kaufman, 2013-2015

Kathi Rovere, 2011-2013

Shirley Rose, 2010-2011

Cathy McNamara, 2009-2010

Philamena Baird, 2008-2009

Helen P. Shaffer, 2006-2008


Philip A. Bahr, 2005-2006

Diane Gendel, 2004-2005

Sharon Ley Lietzow, 2002-2004

Robert F. Lietzow, 2000-2002

Philip J. Berquist, 1997-2000

Betty C. Jukes, 1995-1997

Mary Ann McKeithan, 1994-1995

Richard Morgan, 1992-1994

Sally Reynolds, 1988-1992

Stephen Harbachick*, 1984-1988


Founding Trustees

Charlene and Phillip J.* Carroll Anne and Barry Munitz
Barbara and Gerald D. Hines* Marilyn and Gene Reamer
Diana* and Bill Hobby Wilhelmina “Beth” Robertson
Belle Johnson Shirley and Donald M.*Rose
Betty C. and Gene* McDavid Louisa Stude Sarofim
George P. Mitchell* Nan and Richard P.* Schissler, Jr.
John J. Moores Goldye Marian Spain*
Margaret Alkek Williams

Honorary Trustees

Philip Berquist Sybil Roos
Marie Bosarge Ann Sakowitz*
Renee Danziger* Charles Saunders*
Marian Yeagar Enete* David Tomatz*
Carlisle Floyd David Ashley White
Ulyesse J. LeGrange Philip Winston
Beth Madison Elsa Wolf*


In collaboration with
Fall Luncheon student performance

"My devotion to Moores School of Music grows deeper with each passing year by turning dreams of studying music into a reality for many. One young musician, instead of studying music, worked to care for his father with alzheimer’s and his brother who was severely injured in Afghanistan. Knowing without the assistance of Moores Society he would not be the accomplished award winning violist he is today is the most incredible feeling." - Debbie Feuer, Moores Society Member