Faculty and Staff - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Meet the Faculty

Courtney Crappell 


David Bertman Associate Dean for Special Initiatives
Dana Pradervand Associate Director, Bands
Jamey Kollar Marching Percussion Coordinator
Cameron Kubos Director of Athletic Bands & Spirit Groups


Mark Barton Instructional Associate Professor of Tuba
Paul Garza Lecturer
Mark Hughes Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
Robert Johnson Affiliate Artist in French Horn
Brian Kauk Affiliate Artist in Trombone
Gavin Reed Affiliate Artist in French Horn
Jim Vasallo Affiliate Artist in Brass
Dan Vinson Affiliate Artist in Euphonium
Robert Walp Affiliate Artist in Trumpet

Choral Studies

Jeb Mueller Associate Director of Choral Studies
Charles Hausmann Professor of Choral Studies
Betsy Weber Director of Choral Studies


Rob Smith Division Head of AURA
David White Professor of Composition


Raymond Harvey Clinical Associate Professor of Opera
Franz Krager Director of Orchestral Studies

Music Education

Cora Bigwood Lecturer in Music Education
Julie Derges Division Head of Music Education
Erin Hansen Assistant Professor of Music Education
Anna Langley  Lecturer in Music Education
Laura McGregor Faculty in Keyboard
Cory Meals Assistant Professor in Music Education


Noe Marmolejo Director of Jazz Studies
Michael Wheeler Affiliate Artist in Guitar


Timothy Hester Director of Keyboard Collaborative Arts
Daryl Robinson Director of Organ Studies
Brian Suits Instructional Assistant Professor


Paul Bertagnoli Associate Professor of Musicology
Matthew Dirst Professor of Musicology
Barbara Rose Lange Professor of Ethnomusicology
Howard Pollack Division Head of Musicology


Buck Ross Director, Moores Opera Center


Alec Warren Instructional Assistant Professor of Percussion
Blake Wilkins Division Head of Percussion 


Tali Morgulis Associate Professor of Piano
Andrew Staupe Assistant Professor of Piano
Todd Van Kekerix Assistant Professor in Piano Pedagogy
Ying Zhu Lecturer


Wayne Brooks Affiliate Artist in Viola
Estelle Choi Affiliate Artist in Cello
Andrzej Grabiec Professor of Violin
Anthony Kitai Affiliate Artist in Cello
Suzanne LeFevre Affiliate Artist in Viola
Ertan Torgul Affiliate Artist in Violin
Dennis Whittaker  Assistant Professor
Kirsten Yon Division Head of Strings

Music Technology

Carl Welch Lecturer in Music Technology

Music Theory

Timothy Koozin Division Head of Music Theory
Ji Yeon Lee Professor of Music Theory
Nancy Murphy Assistant Professor of Music Theory
John Snyder Professor of Music Theory


Dominique McCormick Affiliate Artist of Voice
Zachary Averyt Affiliate Artist in Voice and Pedagogy
Melanie Sonnenberg Professor of Voice
Hector Vàsquez Instructional Assistant Professor of Voice
Joesph Evans Division Head of Voice Studies 
Timothy Jones Associate Professor of Voice
Cynthia Clayton Professor of Voice, Director of Undergraduate Studies


Adam Dinitz Affiliate Artist in Oboe/English Horn
Aralee Dorough Affiliate Artist in Flute
Jonathan Fischer Affiliate Artist in Oboe
Randall Griffin Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Mark Nuccio Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Chester Rowell Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Peggy Russell Affiliate Artist in Flute
Melissa Suhr Affiliate Artist in Flute
Elise Wagner Affiliate Artist in Bassoon
Woody Witt Affiliate Artist in Jazz Saxophone

Meet the Staff

Alan Austin Artistic Director of the Immanuel & Helen Olshan Texas Music Festival
Jason Burton  Assistant Theater Manager
Karina Duran  Director of Business Administration
Sarah Hardin Administrative Assistant 
Kelly Ibarra Admissions Manager
Kristi Johnson Theater Manager
Nicole Kenley-Miller Production Manager
Shannon Langman Patron Relations Coordinator
Tonasha Laws  Office Coordinator 
Marcus Maroney Director of Graduate Studies
Melanie Mendoza Office Coordinator 
Stacia Morgan Dunn Academic Advisior III
Charmaine Paladan Business Administrative Assistant 
Corbin Sturch Piano Technician
Sixto Wagan Director, Center for Art & Social Engagement
Carrie Young Director, Academic Affairs & Student Success
Katherine Turner Associate Director, Moores School of Music