Faculty and Staff - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Meet the Faculty

Courtney Crappell 


David Bertman Director of Bands
Dana Pradervand Associate Director, Bands, Division Head, Winds and Brass
Jamey Kollar Marching Percussion Coordinator
Cameron Kubos Director of Athletic Bands and Spirit Groups


Mark Barton Affiliate Artist in Tuba
Mark Hughes Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
Robert Johnson Affiliate Artist in French Horn
Brian Kauk Affiliate Artist in Trombone
Gavin Reed Affiliate Artist in French Horn
Jim Vassallo Affiliate Artist in Trumpet
Dan Vinson Affiliate Artist in Euphonium
Robert Walp Affiliate Artist in Trumpet

Choral Studies

Charles Hausmann Professor of Choral Studies
Jeb Mueller Associate Director of Choral Studies
Betsy Weber Director of Choral Studies


Rob Smith Professor and Coordinator of Composition, Director of AURA Contemporary Ensemble
Marcus Maroney Associate Professor of Composition, Director of Graduate Studies
David White Professor of Composition


Raymond Harvey Clinical Associate Professor of Opera
Franz Krager Director of Orchestral Studies

Music Education

Cora Bigwood Lecturer in Music Education
Julie Derges Associate Professor of Music Education, Division Head of Music Education
Erin Hansen Assistant Professor of Music Education
Anna Langley  Lecturer in Music Education
Laura McGregor Lecturer in Music Education
Cory Meals Assistant Professor in Music Education
Mary Neeley Stevens Student Teaching Supervisor
Student Teaching Supervisor
Chapman Welch Lecturer


Noe Marmolejo Director of Jazz Studies
Michael Wheeler Affiliate Artist in Guitar


Timothy Hester Professor of Piano, Division Head of Piano, Director of Keyboard Collaborative Arts
Tali Morgulis Associate Professor of Piano
Daryl Robinson Assistant Professor of Organ
Andrew Staupe Assistant Professor of Piano
Brian Suits Instructional Professor of Accompanying
Todd Van Kekerix Assistant Professor of Piano and Piano Pedagogy


Paul Bertagnoli Associate Professor of Musicology
Matthew Dirst Professor and Coordinator of Musicology
Barbara Rose Lange Professor of Ethnomusicology
Howard Pollack Professor of Musicology
Katherine L. Turner Lecturer 


Buck Ross Director, Moores Opera Center
Raymond Harvey Clinical Associate Professor of Opera, Opera Conducting


Alec Warren Instructional Assistant Professor of Percussion
Blake Wilkins Professor of Percussion, Division Head of Percussion 


Wayne Brooks Affiliate Artist in Viola
Eunghee Cho Professor of Practice, Cello
Anthony Kitai Affiliate Artist in Cello
Eric Larson Affiliate Artist of Double Bass
Suzanne LeFevre Instructional Associate Professor of Viola
Ertan Torgul Affiliate Artist in Violin
Kirsten Yon Associate Professor of ViolinDivision Head of Strings

Music Technology & Appreciation

Carl Welch Lecturer in Music Technology

Music Theory

Paul Garza Lecturer
Timothy Koozin Professor and Coordinator of Music Theory
Ji Yeon Lee Assistant Professor of Music Theory
Nancy Murphy Assistant Professor of Music Theory
John Snyder Professor of Music Theory


Zachary Averyt Affiliate Artist in Voice and Pedagogy
Cynthia Clayton Professor of Voice, Coordinator of Voice Area Activities, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Joesph Evans Professor of Voice, Division Head of Voice Studies 
Timothy Jones Professor of Voice
Dominique McCormick Affiliate Artist of Voice
Melanie Sonnenberg Professor of Voice
Hector Vàsquez Instructional Associate Professor of Voice 


Adam Dinitz Affiliate Artist in Oboe/English Horn
Aralee Dorough Affiliate Artist in Flute
Jonathan Fischer Affiliate Artist in Oboe
Randall Griffin Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Sasha Potiomkin Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Chester Rowell Affiliate Artist in Clarinet
Peggy Russell Affiliate Artist in Flute
Melissa Suhr Affiliate Artist in Flute
Elise Wagner Affiliate Artist in Bassoon
Woody Witt Affiliate Artist in Saxophone

Meet the Staff

Alan Austin Artistic Director of the Texas Music Festival
Jason Burton   Building Coordinator, Assistant Theater Manager
Cynthia Clayton Director of Undergraduate Studies
Karina Duran   Department Business Administrator
Sarah Hardin Administrative Assistant  
Kelly Ibarra Admissions Manager
Kristi Johnson Theater Manager
Nicole Kenley-Miller Opera Production Manager  
Marcus Maroney Director of Graduate Studies
Stacia Morgan Dunn Academic Advisior III
David Siegel Manager of AV Services
Corbin Sturch Piano Technician
Katherine L. Turner Associate Director, Moores School of Music
Teresa Valente Coordinator of Outreach Events, Assistant to the Director
Tobin Wright Recital Coordinator
Emily Wolfe Patron Relations & Communications Coordinator