Skip to main content

PLS McCarty Lecture

2018 PLS McCarty Lecture
Date: Monday, April 23
Time: 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
"Leadership and Professionalism: It’s All in Front of You Now"
Speaker: Michael A. Moné, BPharm., J.D., Vice President, Associate General Counsel - Regulatory, Cardinal Health Inc.
Location: Health Building 2, Room 3048 and Room 3050

About the Speaker

As a licensed pharmacist and lawyer, Moné has served in a variety of roles in private and public practice of law and pharmacy prior to joining Cardinal Health as vice president of anti-diversion and senior regulatory counsel.

Michael Mone photo

In his first role with Cardinal, he was responsible for the continuous improvement of the company’s anti-diversion initiative to identify and stop supply chain diversion of controlled substances at the customer level. Moné has now moved into the Legal Department responsible for advising and assisting Cardinal Health business units with meeting their regulatory responsibilities.

From 1996 to 2004, he led the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy where he developed statewide public health policy and was in charge of all investigative efforts for the agency. He also served as an attorney for the Florida Board of Pharmacy.

In addition, Moné has served as an assistant attorney general in Florida as the general counsel for various regulatory boards and commissions. In private practice, he served as both legal counsel representing clients in federal regulatory matters, as well as a pharmacist in both the hospital and independent retail pharmacy settings.

Moné has held leadership roles within many industry associations, including the American Pharmacists Association, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, U.S. Pharmacopeia, and the Florida Pharmacy Association. He also served on the Ohio Governor’s Prescription Drug Abuse Task Force and is a member of the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy.

Moné has also published multiple works on the topics of pharmacy and law. He attended the University of Florida where he received both his Juris Doctorate and Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy.

About the Lecture Series

The shouts of “Carpe Diem” emanating from James T. McCarty has encouraged his students to strive to live for the day – to persevere through their time spent at the college for benefit of the patients they will serve. In fact, many students may remember how he emphasized the importance of treating all patients as equals.

Throughout the curriculum, faculty and students used McCarty as a model of leadership within the profession by emulating his ideals and teachings. For this reason, the students of Phi Lamda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership honor society, are proud to have named the Leadership Lecture Series after such an influential individual. The annual lecture is co-sponsored by UH College of Pharmacy.

About James T. McCarty

James T. McCarty is a retired professor and alumnus of UH College of Pharmacy. Having spent a lifetime with the university, from graduation to retirement, McCarty has built a legacy of professionalism in the classroom, in pharmacy practice, and behind the podium. McCarty has many years of varied pharmacy experience, including hospital, manufacturing and community.

His professional affiliations include Rho Chi National Honor Society, American Mensa and Phi Lambda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership society where he served as president in 1992. McCarty has received many honors,including the 1997 Harris County Pharmacist of the Year, the 1991 UH College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award, the 1992 Texas Pharmacist Association Pharmacist of the Year Award and the 1992 Albert Rosica, Jr. Memorial Award by the American College of Apothecaries “for recognition of outstanding contribution to pharmacy education.”

About Phi Lambda Sigma

Phi Lambda Sigma honors leadership. Members are selected by peer recognition. No greater honor can be bestowed upon an individual than to be recognized as a leader by one’s peers. Such recognition instills and enhances self-confidence, encourages the less active student to a more active role and promotes greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy.

The purpose of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the national Pharmacy Leadership Society, is to promote the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students. By peer recognition, the Society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. Since membership crosses fraternal and organizational lines,
the Society does not compete with other pharmacy organizations.

Founded in 1965, Phi Lambda Sigma has expanded to more than 90 schools and colleges of pharmacy in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. The UH Upsilon Chapter was established in 1988.

Past Lecturers

George Okpamen, 2017
Joyce A. Tipton, 2016
David A. Zilz and Roger W. Anderson, 2015
The Honorable Charles L. "Chuck" Hopson, 2014
No lecture in 2013
Todd W. Canada, 2012
Lisa Scholz, 2011
Dennis B. Worthen, 2010
Joesph T. DiPiro, 2009
Lloyd Y. Young, 2008
Rhea Blanken, 2007