Skip to main content


Congratulations to Shiva Baradaran, Danielle Niangar, and Aylin Rodriguez
Spring 2019 Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship Recipients


Shiva Baradaran: "Thank you so much for providing the Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship. Being a recipient of this award means a great deal to me. My huge passion for politics is what brought me to the University of Houston as a political science student and has taken me to the internships I have been lucky to hold. None of this would have been possible for me without the aid of kind people like you."

Danielle Niangar: "By awarding me with the Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship, you have significantly lightened my financial burden, which allows me to focus more on preparing for my researching fellowship in Italy, applying for graduate school, and my volunteerism here in the United States. Your generosity has inspired me to give to the community, and I hope to one day be able to help students achieve their goals just as you have done with me."

Aylin Rodriguez: "By alleviating some of my financial burden, I will immerse myself in my education and projects for the upcoming semester. I will use this scholarship to the best extent possible because I understand that by receiving and accepting this scholarship, I am representing those who have a passion for politics and public service both inside and outside the classroom." 

Past Recipients

Britnee Chuor, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, State Representative Gene Wu, spring 2018

Ben Nelson, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, City Council Member Michael Kubosh, fall 2016

Stephanie GomezHistory and Political Science double major
CHIP Intern, City Controller Chris Brown, spring 2016

Andrea ElizondoPolitical Science and Liberal Studies major
CHIP Intern, Houston Crackdown, spring 2015

Seth Howard, Political Science major
CHIP Intern, Congressman Ted Poe, spring 2015

Patrick Sears, Political Science and Philosophy major
Metropolitan Volunteer Program, spring 2015

Stephanie Brooks, Political Science and Sociology major 
State Department, Lima, Peru, fall 2013

Sarah Aimadeddine, Political Science and Economics double degree
Hobby Fellow, State Representative Jim Murphy, spring 2013

Mathew Mendoza, Political Science major
Phi Alpha Delta, vice president 2013-2014

Miriah Soliz, Political Science major
University of Houston Student Government, executive director, August 2012-May 2013

Amir Tavakkoli, Political Science and Sociology major
Shami Farouk Campaign for Texas Governor, spring 2010 

Taylor Kilroy, Political Science and Public Relations major
City Councilmember Pam Holm, fall 2009