Skip to main content

Faculty

 


dinaalsowayel.jpegDina Al-Sowayel
Instructional Associate Professor
dalsoway@central.uh.edu


nandini-uh.jpgNandini Bhattacharya
Associate Professor of
South Asia & Medical History
nsbhatta@central.uh.edu


bobbuzzanco.jpegRobert Buzzanco

Professor of US History
buzz@uh.edu



adelacedillosmall.jpeg
Adela Cedillo

Assistant Professor of
Modern Mexican History
acedill6@central.uh.edu

adelacedillosmall.jpeg
Pratik Chakrabarti 
NEH Cullen Chair
in History & Medicine
pchakra7@central.uh.edu

tsheppochery.jpeg
Tshepo Masango Chéry
Assistant Professor of
African History
tmchery@uh.edu 

clavin.jpg
Matthew Clavin
Professor of American
and Atlantic History
mjclavin@uh.edu

xiaopingcong.png
Xiaoping Cong
Professor of Modern
Chinese History
xcong@central.uh.edu

hannahdecker.jpeg
Hannah Decker
Professor of German
History & History of Psychiatry
hsdecker@uh.edu

stevendeyle.jpeg
Steven Deyle
Associate Professor of
US History
shdeyle@uh.edu

sarahfishman.jpeg
Sarah Fishman
Professor of Modern
French History & Assistant Chair of the History Department
sfishman@uh.edu

norahgharala.jpeg
Norah L.A. Gharala
Assistant Professor of Colonial Mexican History
nlgharala@uh.edu

markgoldberg.jpeg
Mark Goldberg
Associate Professor of
US and Latinx History
magoldberg@uh.edu

alexeygolubev.jpeg
Alexey Golubev
Associate Professor of Russian History
avgolubev@uh.edu

debbieharwell.jpeg
Debbie Z. Harwell
Instructional Assistant Professor of US History
dzharwel@central.uh.edu

joseangelhernandez.jpeg
José Angel Hernández
Associate Professor of
US-Mexico History
JoseAngel@uh.edu

frankholt.jpeg
Frank Lee Holt
Professor of
Ancient History
fholt@uh.edu

kellyhopkins.jpeg
Kelly Hopkins
Assistant Professor of
Early American History
kyhopkins@uh.edu

geraldhornenew.jpeg
Gerald Horne
Moores Professor of
History
ghorne@uh.edu

philhoward2.jpeg
Philip Howard
Professor of Latin America
& Caribbean
pahoward@uh.edu

karlittmann.jpeg
Karl Ittmann
Professor of Modern
British History
kittmann@uh.edu

kairnkliemann.jpegKairn Klieman
Associate Professor of
African History
kklieman@uh.edu

davidmcnally.jpeg
David McNally
Cullen Distinguished Professor of History & Business
djmcnally@uh.edu

nataliamilanesio.jpeg
Natalia Milanesio
Professor of Latin
American History
nmilanesio@uh.edu

rickmizelle.jpeg
Richard M. Mizelle, Jr.
Associate Professor of
US and Medical History
rmmizelle@uh.edu

kristinaneumann.jpeg
Kristina Neumann
Associate Professor of
Ancient & Digital History & Director of Department Communications
kmneuma2@central.uh.edu

cathypatterson.jpeg
Catherine Patterson
Associate Professor of
Early Modern Britain
cpatters@uh.edu

monicaperales.jpeg
Monica Perales
Associate Professor of
US History & Director of the Center for Public History
mperales3@uh.edu

raulramos.jpeg
Raúl Ramos
Associate Professor of US and Chicano/a History
raramos@uh.edu

josiahrector.jpeg
Josiah J. Rector
Assistant Professor of
US Urban and
Environmental History
jjrector@central.uh.edu

lindareed.jpeg
Linda Reed
Associate Professor of
African American History &
Interim Chair of African American Studies
lreed@uh.edu

toddromero.jpeg
Todd Romero
Associate Professor of
Early US History &
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
tromero2@uh.edu

guadsanmiguel.jpeg
Guadalupe San Miguel
Professor of US and
Mexican-American History
gsanmiguel@uh.edu

jimmyschafer.jpeg
James Schafer
Associate Professor of
US and Medical History &
Director of Graduate Studies
jschafer@uh.edu

abedtakriti.jpeg
Abdel Razzaq Takriti
Associate Professor &
Arab-American Educational Foundation Chair in
Modern Arab History
artakriti@uh.edu

nancybyoung.jpeg
Nancy Beck Young
Moores Professor of History
& Chair of the History Department
nyoung@central.uh.edu

cihan-yuksel.jpg
Cihan Yüksel Muslu
Associate Professor of Ottoman History
ecyuksel@central.uh.edu

leandrazarnow.jpeg
Leandra Zarnow
Associate Professor of
US and Women's History & Director of Undergraduate Studies
lrzarnow@central.uh.edu

Visiting Scholar

img_2225tiny.jpg
John Sbardellati
Visiting Associate Professor of
20th-century US History
jsbardel@central.uh.edu 

Emeritus Faculty 

Lois Zamora