Skip to main content

Rho Chi Boblitt Lecture

Sponsored by The Rho Chi Society UH Beta Omicron Chapter and UH College of Pharmacy, the Robert L. Boblitt Lecture Series is held in the fall of each academic year. During the lecture, UH Rho Chi members present the chapter’s Teaching Excellence Award to the outstanding faculty members from the college’s three academic departments.

Rho Chi Society Robert L. Boblitt Lecture
Date: Thursday, Oct. 18, 2018
Time: 12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m.
Location: Lecture Halls 3048 and 3050, Health 2

"Pharmacy’s Future: It Can Be What You Think…
It WILL Be What You Do"

Alex C. Varkey, Pharm.D., M.S., FAPhA
Director of Pharmacy Services, Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas

About Alex C. Varkey

alex varkey photoAlex C. Varkey, PharmD, MS, FAPhA, is the Director of Pharmacy Services at Houston Methodist Hospital in Houston. Varkey received his Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) from the University of Houston College of Pharmacy in 2005. He then completed a two-year administrative residency at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, while completing his Master of Science in Health-System Pharmacy Administration at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy in 2007.

Varkey has prioritized professional involvement throughout his career beginning as a student, having served in various national offices including national president of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Academy of Student Pharmacists and voting member of the APhA Board of Trustees in 2004-05. He has remained involved in organizations such as APhA, which re-appointed Varkey to serve on their Board of Trustees in January 2018 through March 2019.

Varkey has also been very involved with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP) through various appointed positions since graduating. Varkey is an accomplished writer and public speaker, having authored and co-authored several articles in national publications and has served as a keynote speaker at several local and national meetings. He is a member of APhA’s Media Advisor Group as well as the ASHP Foundation’s Leadership Speakers Bureau.

Varkey places high priority in educating student pharmacists and pharmacy residents, having developed a Pharmacy Administration APPE, two-year health-system pharmacy administration residency, and a longitudinal pharmacy internship program throughout his tenure at Houston Methodist Hospital. For his efforts, Varkey was the 2010-11 recipient of the University of Texas College of Pharmacy Houston/Galveston Region Outstanding Hospital Preceptor Award, and the 2014 recipient of the Gulf Coast Society of Health-System Pharmacists Outstanding Pharmacist Award.

About Robert L. Boblitt

Robert “Bob” Boblitt, Ph.D., joined the college’s faculty in 1953, shortly after the college’s founding. He served as assistant and associate dean from 1971 unti his retirement in 1987.

After receiving a baccalaureate in pharmacy from Ohio Northern University in 1948, Dr. Boblitt completed his Ph.D. in medicinal chemistry from the University of Minnesota in 1953. His honors included membership in Phi Eta Sigma, Rho Chi, Sigma Xi and the Samuel Melendy Fellowship. He also was the recipient of the University of Houston Teaching Excellence Award in 1972.

Boblitt was an extraordinary teacher, a practicing pharmacist and a friend for students. Those who sat in his classroom during the 33 years he taught will always remember how fast he could draw chemical structures and the way in which he skillfully drew structures with one and erased them with the other. He could never have too much information or structures on the chalkboard.

About Rho Chi Society

The Rho Chi Society, pharmacy’s academic honor society established in 1922, encourages and recognizes excellence in intellectual achievement and fosters fellowship among its members. Further, the Society encourages high standards of conduct and character, and advocates critical inquiry in all aspects of pharmacy. Membership is by invitation and based on high academic achievement in the professional curriculum. The UH Beta Omicron chapter of Rho Chi was founded in 1958.

Past Lecturers

Kenneth R. Baker, 2017
Christopher Alvarado, 2016
Thomas L. Lemke, 2015
Cmdr. Chandima Deegala, 2015 (rescheduled from Fall 2014)
Stuart T. Haines, 2013
Lourdes M. Cuéllar, 2012
Diane Ginsburg, 2011
Judith Jacobi, 2010
John D. Grabenstein, 2009
Cynthia L. Raehl, 2008
Cynthia Brennan, 2007
Bruce Berger, 2006
Traci Metting, 2005
Mustafa Lokhandwala, 2004
Lucinda Maine, 2003
Karen Rascati, 2002
Victoria Roche, 2001