News & Events

Faculty Experts

UH Offers Experts on Hurricanes

UH Offers Experts on Hurricanes

Representing experts across various fields, University of Houston sources have expertise in an array of topics related to storms – before, during and after.

UH Scholars Have Insights on Supreme Court Rulings

Bookmark and Share
February 18, 2009-Houston-
When the U.S. Supreme Court reconvenes later this month, several legal practitioners and scholars at the University of Houston Law Center will be available to help you with your reporting. For a preview of the high court's February cases, provided by the American Bar Association, click here. For a preview of March cases, click here.

Gavin Clarkson is a member of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma and the nation's leading scholar on tribal finance. He has done extensive research in both intellectual property management and federal Indian law, particularly tribal economic development. Contact him at gclark@uh.edu.

Aaron Bruhl teaches and writes on the legislative process, statutory interpretation and the federal courts. He has participated in federal appellate litigation, including several cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. He also has experience with election law, First Amendment rights of journalists, federal Indian law and copyright infringement. Contact him at aabruhl@uh.edu or 713-743-2357.

Brigham Daniels studies environmental and natural resources law and policy, property and political economy. He has advised on environmental matters a wide range of clients, including law firms, state and local governments, and a number of public policy think tanks. Contact him at bdaniels@central.uh.edu or 713-743-2217.

Marcilynn A. Burke teaches property law, land-use law, natural resources law and environmental law. Contact her at mburke@central.uh.edu or 713-743-2336.

Alexander "Sasha" Volokh's interests include law and economics, administrative law and the regulatory process, environmental law and policy, and legal history. His current research covers the private management of government services and statutory interpretation. Contact him at avolokh@uh.edu or 713-743-2333.

Jim Hawkins' research and teaching interests include consumer borrowing, the fringe banking industry, bankruptcy and secured credit. Contact him at jrhawkins@uh.edu or 713-743-5018.

Peter Linzer is an expert on contracts, constitutional law, equal protection and torts. Contact him at plinzer@uh.edu or 713-743-2176.

Jacqueline Lang Weaver teaches courses in oil and gas, energy law and policy, international petroleum transactions, natural resources, water and environmental law. She has written extensively on oil and gas law and energy policy. Contact her at jweaver@uh.edu or 713-743-2158.

Sandra G. Thompson has authored numerous articles on criminal law issues, including wrongful conviction, immigration, jury discrimination, police interrogations, federal sentencing and asset forfeiture. Contact her at sguerra@uh.edu or 713-743-2134.

Daren Bush has expertise in antitrust, regulated industries, deregulation, airlines, surface transportation, electricity and competition policy. Contact him at dbush@central.uh.edu or 713-743-3346.

Seth J. Chandler specializes in insurance law and related fields, such as health law, economic analysis of law and contract drafting. Contact him at schandler@uh.edu or 713-743-2123.

Stephen Zamora has authored numerous articles and chapters on international economic law, international banking law, international trade law and international monetary law. Contact him at szamora@central.UH.edu or 713-743-2137.

Categories: People