Skip to main content

UH Global

Overview

global imageUH Global promotes international collaborations, faculty and student exchange, research collaborations, learning abroad, global learning programs, and strategic partnerships to internationalize the campus and increase the global knowledge, skills, and engagement of the UH community. 

For other general inquiries, please contact uhglobal@uh.edu 

University Collaborations 

Any formal collaboration such as a Memorandum of Understanding, an Articulation Agreement, or a Contract between UH and a foreign institution requires the endorsement of UH Global, the Office of the Provost and, if necessary, the Office of the General Counsel before it can be implemented. The Process for Establishing International Affiliations assists UH faculty and administrators through the required steps in establishing formal collaborations.

Global Faculty Development Fund

The Global Faculty Development Fund (GFDF) was established to further faculty involvement in the globalization process of the university. This Provost initiative will increase both the assortment and quality of UH’s global programs by helping faculty to defray the costs of engaging in innovative global activities.

Swansea University is offering Erasmus+ faculty mobility grants for faculty from Texas Strategic Partnership universities to undertake short teaching visits to Swansea University. 

Fulbright Awards

Fulbright Scholar Program:
Faculty who are U.S. citizens and would like to participate in teaching, research, or a combination of teaching and research should consider applying for a Fulbright Scholar Award. Program length ranges from 2-12 months and applications are due in September. For more information about the application process, please visit the Fulbright Scholar website

Fulbright Specialist Program:
Faculty who are U.S. citizens and would like to participate in short-term academic projects abroad should consider applying for either a Fulbright Specialist award. Program length ranges from 2-6 weeks and applications are due on a rolling basis (every two months). For more information about the application process, please visit the Fulbright Specialist website

Fulbright Visiting Scholar Program
Faculty and departments who would like to host a non-U.S. scholar at the University of Houston can encourage potential visitors to apply for the Fulbright Visiting Scholar Program through their country's Fulbright commission or the public affairs section of the U.S. Embassy in their home country. 

Click to view a list past and current Fulbright Scholars, Specialists, and Visiting Scholars at UH. 

 

UH Global Advisory Committee

Name
College 
Phone Number
Email Address
Department / Role 
Dietmar Froehlich  Architecture  713-298-4977 dfroehlich@uh.edu Co-Director Graduate Studies and Assoc. Professor of Architecture
Jeffrey Sposato Arts 713-743-5697 jssposato@uh.edu Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor of Musicology
Marina Sebastijanovic Business 713-743-4650 msebastijanovic@uh.edu Clinical Assistant Professor of Management 
Yali Zou Education  713-743-4982 yzou@uh.edu Professor of Educational Psychology and Director Asian Studies Center 
Suresh Khator Engineering  713-743-4205 skhator@uh.edu Professor of Industrial Engineering and Associate Dean
KiJoon Back Hotel and Restaurant Management  713-743-2530 kback@uh.edu
Professor
Zale Kellen Law  713-743-0325 kbzale@central.uh.edu Associate Professor
Hildegard Glass Liberal Arts and Social Sciences 713-743-3049 hfglass@uh.edu Chair Department of Modern and Classical Languages 
Anne Delcour Natural Sciences and Mathematics 713-743-2684 adelcour@uh.edu Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Terry Kirk Nursing 832-842-8209 tdkirk@uh.edu Clinical Associate Professor
Vivien Coulson-Thomas Optometry  713-743-2042 vjcoulson-thomas@uh.edu Assistant Professor
MariVi Tejada-Simon  Pharmacy  713-743-7835 mvtejada-simon@uh.edu Associate Professor of Pharmacology
Patrick Leung Social Work  713-743-8111 pleung@uh.edu Professor Social Work and Director for the Graduate College of Social Work 
Heidar Malki Technology  713-743-4075 hmalki@central.uh.edu Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Maria Modelska Engineering
(Staff Council Representative)
713-743-3677 mjmodelska@uh.edu Associate Director, Research Center Administrator
Christian Eberhart Liberal Arts and Social Sciences 713-743-3677 ceberhart@uh.edu Chair of Religious Studies
Hannah Ajrami Student Government Representative 832-842-6225 hannahm361@gmail.com
Student Government Association