Tenured/Tenure-Track - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Tenured/Tenure-Track

Andre C. Barato

Andre C. Barato
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Würzburg

barato@uh.edu
713-743-3023
Office:
Science & Research 1, 627

Kevin E. Bassler

Kevin E. Bassler
Moores Professor of Physics and Mathematics
Department Chair

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
Complex Systems and Non-Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics

bassler@uh.edu
713-743-3568
Office: Science & Research 1, 619C

Rene Bellwied

Rene Bellwied
M.D. Anderson Chair Professor
Ph.D., Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany

bellwied@uh.edu
713-743-3548
Office: Science & Research 1, 406A

Edgar Bering

Edgar Bering
Professor
Ph.D. in Physics, University of California, Berkeley

eabering@uh.edu
713-743-3543
Office: Science & Research 1, 530D

Shuo Chen

Shuo Chen
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Boston College

schen34@uh.edu
713-743-9135
Office: Science & Research 1, 510C

Daniel Cherdack

Daniel Cherdack
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Tufts University

ddcherdack@uh.edu
Office: Science & Research 1, 406B

Margaret S. Cheung

Margaret S. Cheung
Moores Professor of Physics, of Chemistry, and of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, B.S., National Taiwan University
Protein Folding Theory, Protein Folding in Vivo, Protein-Protein Interaction, Solar Energy Conversion, Multiscale Simulations and Modeling, Coarse-Grained Molecular Simulation, Soft Condensed Matter, Clean Energy

mscheung@uh.edu
713-743-8358
Office: Science & Research 1, 629B

Paul C. W. Chu

Paul C. W. Chu
Professor of Physics, T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science, and Founding Director & Chief Scientist, Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

cwchu@uh.edu
713-743-8222
Office: UH Science Center, 262

Wei-Kan Chu

Wei-Kan Chu
Cullen University Professor
Ph.D., Physics, Baylor University
Ion Beam, Ion Implantation, Rutherford Backscattering, Channeling, Radiation Damage, High Temperature Superconductor Applications, Levitation Bearings, Semiconductor Doping

wkchu@uh.edu
713-743-8252
Office: UH Science Center, 114

Seamus Curran

Seamus Curran
Professor
Ph.D., Trinity College Dublin

sacurran@uh.edu
Office: Science & Research 1, 525

Mini Das

Mini Das
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
Medical Imaging Physics, Inverse Problems, Optical and Radiological Imaging, Image Science, Psychophysics, Image Perception, Optics and Electromagnetics in Medicine and Biology, Biophysics

mdas@uh.edu
713-743-3539
Office: Science & Research 1, 419B

Byron Freelon

Byron Freelon
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota

bkfreelon@uh.edu
Office: Science & Research 1, 419F

Gemunu Gunaratne

Gemunu Gunaratne
Moores Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University
Genetic Networks, Physics and Genetic Diseases, Principal Components Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Chaos, Bifurcations

gemunu@uh.edu
713-743-3534
Office: Science & Research 1, 633

Pei-Herng Hor

Pei-Herng Hor
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston, B.S., Tamkang University
High Temperature Superconductivity, Bio/Medical Imaging

phor@uh.edu
713-743-8300
Office: UH Science Center, 264A

Pavan Hosur

Pavan Hosur
Assistant Professor
Post Doc, Stanford University, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, B. Tech., Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

phosur@uh.edu
713-743-1033
Office: UH Science Center, 370

Ed Hungerford

Ed Hungerford
Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Tech

hunger@uh.edu
713-743-3549
Office: Science & Research 1, 408

Donald Kouri

Donald Kouri
Cullen Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

kouri@uh.edu
713-743-3245
Office: Science & Research 1, 606B

Liming Li

Liming Li
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Caltech

lli7@central.uh.edu
713-743-3283
Office: Science & Research 1, 530C

Mark A. Meier

Mark A. Meier
Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

mameier@central.uh.edu
713-743-6195
Office: Science & Research 1, 605A

John Miller

John Miller
Professor
Ph.D., Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Phenomena, Electron Transport, Superconductivity, Charge Density Waves, Biophysics, Biosensors

jhmiller@uh.edu
713-743-8257
Office: UH Science Center, 318

Greg Morrison

Greg Morrison
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park, Physics

gcmorris@central.uh.edu
713-743-9344
Office: Science & Research 1, 629D

Carlos R. Ordonez

Carlos R. Ordonez
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Quantum Field Theory, Effective Field Theory, Quantum Gravity, String Theory, Black Hole Thermodynamics, Conformal Quantum Mechanics and Applications

ordonez@uh.edu
713-743-3586
Office: Science & Research 1, 627B

Lawrence Pinsky

Lawrence Pinsky
Moores Professor
Ph.D., University of Rochester

pinsky@uh.edu
713-743-3552
Office: Science & Research 1, 412

Claudia Ratti

Claudia Ratti
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Physics, University of Torino (Italy)

cratti@uh.edu
713-743-7250
Office: Science & Research 1, 627D

Zhifeng Ren

Zhifeng Ren
M.D. Anderson Chair Professor
Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences

zren@uh.edu
713-743-8227
Office: UH Science Center, 466

Andrew Renshaw

Andrew Renshaw
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine

arenshaw@uh.edu
713-743-0925
Office: Science & Research 1, 406B

Donna Stokes

Donna Stokes
Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

dstokes@uh.edu
713-743-3588
Office: Science & Research 1, 531C

Wu-Pei Su

Wu-Pei Su
Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

wpsu@uh.edu
713-743-8280
Office: UH Science Center, 313

Anthony Timmins

Anthony Timmins
Associate Professor
Ph.D., High Energy Nuclear Physics, University of Birmingham

atimmins@uh.edu
713-743-3554
Office: Science & Research 1, 406C

Chin-Sen Ting

Chin-Sen Ting
Professor
Ph.D., California at San Diego

ting@uh.edu
713-743-8275
Office: UH Science Center, 312

Oomman K. Varghese

Oomman K. Varghese
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Nanostructured Materials, Excitonic Solar Cells, Solar Fuel Generation, Environmental Sensing

okvarghese@uh.edu
713-743-3808
Office: Science & Research 1, 515E

Arthur Weglein

Arthur Weglein
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair; Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program
Ph.D., CCNY/CUNY/City University of New York, Graduate Center

aweglein@uh.edu
713-743-3848
Office: Science & Research 1, 617

Lisa Whitehead Koerner

Lisa Whitehead Koerner
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Experimental Particle Physics, Neutrinos, Neutrino Oscillations

lkoerner@central.uh.edu
713-743-3502
Office: Science & Research 1, 406A

Lowell Wood

Lowell Wood
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

ltwood@uh.edu
713-743-3560
Office: Science & Research 1, 512B