Eight NSM Faculty Honored at UH Faculty Excellence Awards Luncheon

Awards Include Two Moores Professorships, A Lifetime Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research, and Recognition for Excellence in Teaching, Research and Scholarship

Eight College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics faculty members brought home honors for excellence in the areas of teaching, mentoring, research and scholarship.

The awards, given each year at the “UH Faculty Excellence Awards Luncheon,” are one of the highest honors bestowed by the University of Houston. All winners receive a cash prize.

“Our students benefit greatly because of the hard work of these exceptional faculty members,” said Dan E. Wells, NSM dean. “These faculty members represent the highest degree of dedication to their profession.”

Two Faculty Receive John and Rebecca Moores Professorships

The five-year, renewable John and Rebecca Moores Professorships are given to faculty who are outstanding in teaching, research and service. Recipients of this prestigious award receive a $10,000 stipend annually. The Provost’s letter to the recipients stated that “being a John and Rebecca Moores Professor is an indication of superlative performance.”

For 2015, all recipients were from the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics faculty.

Arnold M. Guloy, Chemistry
Gemunu Gunaratne, Physics

Lifetime Faculty Award for Mentoring Undergraduate Research

The inscription on the plaque given to Albert M.K. Cheng of the Department of Computer Science read “in recognition of outstanding contributions to mentoring in undergraduate research.”

The Lifetime Faculty Award is a career award acknowledging a professor’s exceptional efforts in demonstrating a lasting commitment to undergraduate research.

Albert M.K. Cheng, Computer Science

Awards for Excellence in Research, Scholarship, or Creative Activity – Assistant Professor

Each year, two awards at the Assistant Professor rank are presented to individuals who have demonstrated great potential in research, scholarship or creative endeavors. One 2015 recipient was from NSM.

Daniel Frigo, Biology and Biochemistry

Awards for Excellence in Research and Scholarship – Professor

Each year, two awards at the Professor rank are presented to individuals who have compiled a substantial record of outstanding research, scholarship or creative activities and have achieved preeminence in their field.

Dan Graur, Biology and Biochemistry

Teaching Excellence Award

This award is given to faculty members in recognition of outstanding achievement in teaching.

Matthew Nicol, Mathematics

Teaching Excellence Award – Instructor/Clinical

Two NSM instructional faculty members received this award given in recognition of outstanding teaching by faculty instructors, clinical faculty, research faculty, artist affiliates, and lecturers.

Melahat Almus, Mathematics
Rebecca Forrest, Physics

- Kathy Major, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics