About Our Department - University of Houston
Skip to main content

About Our Department

The Department of Computer Science at the University of Houston was founded in 1967 - one of the first in the nation - with 5 tenured faculty and 3 instructional faculty. Over 50 years later, the department has grown to 26 tenured or tenure-track faculty and 6 instructional faculty. Our academic and research programs provide fundamental knowledge and skills to allow graduates to succeed in diverse environments with broad societal impact.

Read more about the history of our department in the CS NOW! 50th Anniversary Special publication.


Undergraduate students can pursue a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, a Minor in Computer Science, or a Minor in Data Science. Students interested in advanced graduate degrees can pursue a Master of Science (MS) in Computer Science, a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Computer Science or a Graduate Certificate in Interactive Game Development. Our alumni are spread across hundreds of companies and agencies in the technology, oil and gas, higher education, energy, finance, medical, and consulting sectors.


Faculty and graduate students are involved with many cutting-edge research projects related to cybersecurity, high-performance computing, blockchain, IoT, data science, machine learning, natural language processing, graphics, visualization, biomedical computing, and much more! Our outstanding research groups are funded by numerous sources including the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the U.S. Departments of Defense, Homeland Security, Justice, and Transportation.

U.S. Postal, Physical, and Delivery Address

University of Houston
Department of Computer Science
Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall
3551 Cullen Blvd., Room 501
Houston, TX 77204-3010