Faculty - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

Amin Alipour

Alipour, M. Amin
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Software Engineering, Software Testing and Analysis

maalipou@central.uh.edu
713-743-7462
Office: PGH 574

Guoning Chen

Chen, Guoning
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Scientific Data Analysis and Visualization, Computational Topology, Geometric Modeling, Dynamical Systems

gchen16@uh.edu
713-743-5788
Office: Science & Research 2, 370

Albert Cheng

Cheng, Albert
Professor of Computer Science and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Real-Time and Embedded Systems, Cyber-Physical Systems, AI, Functional Reactive Programming, Software Engineering, Power-Aware Computing, Computer Security, Computer Networks

amcheng@uh.edu
713-743-3353
Office: PGH 534

Zhigang Deng

Deng, Zhigang
Moores Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Graphics, Computer Animation, Human Computer Conversation, Robotics

zdeng4@central.uh.edu
713-743-1018
Office: PGH 219

Christoph Eick

Eick, Christoph
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Karlsruhe (Germany)
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining, Evolutionary Computing, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Databases

ceick@uh.edu
713-743-3345
Office: PGH 589

Omprakash Gnawali

Gnawali, Omprakash
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Wireless and Sensor Networks, Network Protocols and Architectures, Mobile Sensing, Social Networks, and Distributed Systems

gnawali@uh.edu
Office: PGH 230

Stephen Huang

Huang, Stephen S.-H.
Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Data Structures, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computer Security, Intrusion Detection

shuang@cs.uh.edu
713-743-3338
Office: PGH 209

Lennart Johnsson

Johnsson, Lennart
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair; Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Chalmers Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Parallel Computer Systems Architecture, Run-Time Systems, Data Parallel Programming and Large-Scale Applications

Johnsson@cs.uh.edu
713-743-3371
Office: PGH 592

Ioannis Kakadiaris

Kakadiaris, Ioannis
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Professor; Professor of Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Biomedical Image Analysis, Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition

ioannisk@uh.edu
713-743-1255
Office: HBS 322

Ernst Leiss

Leiss, Ernst
Professor
Dr. Techn., Vienna University of Technology (Austria)
Vector and Parallel Computing, Data Security, Databases, Formal and Programming Languages, Geophysical Data Processing

eleiss@uh.edu
713-743-3359
Office: PGH 522

Arjun Mukherjee

Mukherjee, Arjun
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Bayesian Inference, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Opinion Spam, Web Mining

arjun@cs.uh.edu
Office: PGH 582

Carlos Ordonez

Ordonez, Carlos
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Data Science Systems, Big Data

carlos@uh.edu
713-743-1013
Office: PGH 571

Gopal Pandurangan

Pandurangan, Gopal
Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Algorithms, Distributed Computing, Networks, Large-Scale Data, Computational Biology

gopal@cs.uh.edu
713-743-5556
Office: PGH 572

Ioannis Pavlidis

Pavlidis, Ioannis
Eckhard Pfeiffer Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering

ipavlidis@uh.edu
713-743-0101
Office: HBS 306

Shishir Shah

Shah, Shishir
Professor; Department Chair
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Quantitative Microscopy, Computational Biology, Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Image Instrumentation

shah@cs.uh.edu
713-743-3360
Office: PGH 215

Shi, Weidong (Larry)

Shi, Weidong (Larry)
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Enabling System Technologies for Services, Computing Systems, Behavioral Computing

wshi3@uh.edu
713-743-2688
Office: PGH 567

Solorio, Thamar

Solorio, Thamar
Professor
Ph.D., National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics (Mexico)
Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction

solorio@cs.uh.edu
713-743-5542
Office: PGH 584

Jaspal Subhlok

Subhlok, Jaspal
Professor
Ph.D., Rice University
Educational Technologies and Their Impact on Learning, Parallel and Distributed Computing

jaspal@uh.edu
713-743-3340
Office: PGH 217

Nikolaos V. Tsekos

Tsekos, Nikolaos V.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computer Technology, Robotics and Physiology

ntsekos@cs.uh.edu
713-743-3358
Office: PGH 595

Rakesh Verma

Verma, Rakesh
Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York-Stony Brook
Formal Methods, Computational Logic, Text/Data Mining and Computer Security

rverma@uh.edu
713-743-3348
Office: PGH 532

Ricardo Vilalta

Vilalta, Ricardo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Machine Learning, Computational and Statistical Learning Theory, Neural Networks, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence

vilalta@cs.uh.edu
713-743-3614
Office: MRE 203C

Panruo Wu

Wu, Panruo
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
High performance computing, Numerical Algorithms and Software, Parallel/Distributed Computing, and Big Data Analytics

pwu7@uh.edu
Office: PGH 564

Feng Yan

Yan, Feng
Associate Professor
Ph.D., College of William & Mary
Big Data, Machine Learning, Cloud Computing, High Performance Computing, Performance Evaluation, Storage, Cross-disciplinary Topics

fyan5@uh.edu
Office: TBA

Instructional Faculty

Victoria Hilford

Hilford, Victoria
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

vhilford@cs.uh.edu
Office: PGH 513

rincon.jfif

Rincon, Carlos
Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

carincon@uh.edu
713-743-8547
Office: PGH 577

Rizk

Rizk, Nouhad
Instructional Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ed.D., Leicester University (United Kingdom)

njrizk@uh.edu
713-743-3710
Office: PGH 565

Chang Yun

Yun, Chang
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

cyun@uh.edu
713-743-3366
Office: PGH 514

Joint Faculty

Deniz Gurkan

Gurkan, Deniz
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology; Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Networking, Measurements, Software-Defined Networking, Interoperable Data Exchange Protocols, Distributed Systems, Optical Fiber Communications

dgurkan@uh.edu
713-743-4037
Office: TCB 230B

Zhu Han

Han, Zhu
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Joint Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Big Data Analysis, Wireless Networking, Smart Grid, Resource Allocation, and Security

zhan2@uh.edu
713-743-4437
Office: W302 Engineering Building 2

Fatima Merchant

Merchant, Fatima
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology; Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science, Biomedical Engineering, and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Computational Biology and Medicine

Badrinath Roysam

Roysam, Badrinath
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Joint Professor of Computer Science
Ph.D., Washington University
Biological Image Analysis, High-Performance Computing, Brain Tissue Mapping and Neuroprosthetic Devices, Computational Immunology, Subsurface Sensing and Imaging Systems

broysam@central.uh.edu
713-743-4400
Office: N325 Engineering Building 1

Adjunct Faculty

Uma Ramamurthy

Ramamurthy, Uma
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis

Venkat Subramaniam

Subramaniam, Venkat
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

Lecturers

Dan Biediger

Biediger, Daniel
Lecturer
Ph.D. Candidate, University of Houston

long-kevin.png

Long, Kevin
Lecturer
M.S., Rice University

Mantini, Pranav

Mantini, Pranav
Lecturer; Senior Researcher, Quantitative Imaging Lab
Ph.D., University of Houston

Raj Singh

Singh, Raj
Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Lafayette