Kathrine G. McGovern College of the Arts Box Office - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Rachmaninoff Sesquicentennial - Guest Recital: Anton Igubnov, piano

Friday, October 20, 2023

7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Join us for a captivating guest recital featuring the exceptional pianist Anton Igubnov, a distinguished alumnus of the Tchaikovsky Moscow State Conservatory. Graduating with academic honors in 2013, Anton continued his postgraduate studies under the mentorship of Prof. Alexei Nasedkin and later, as a Teaching Assistant of Prof. Vladimir Ovchinnikov, a People’s Artist of Russia.

A recipient of the Prefect of the Moscow Central Administrative District grant (2007) and the government prize for “They Possess the Future” (2008), Anton’s remarkable journey includes laureate titles from prestigious national and international piano competitions, such as the Youth Tchaikovsky Competition in Kurashiki (Japan, 2004) and the Johannes Brahms Competition in Pörtschach am Wörthersee (Austria, 2010). His collaborations with esteemed Russian symphony orchestras have showcased his prowess as both a soloist and ensemble performer.

Anton’s artistry extends globally, as he actively engages in concerts and teaching workshops at international music festivals and forums. His compositional talents shine through his vocal cycle “Gallery of Reflections,” which he crafted based on his own poems in 2018. Notably, he’s preparing for the unveiling of his solo piano arrangement of Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances in honor of the masterpiece’s 80th anniversary in 2023.

Anton Igubnov-Dudley Hall will begin the evening by delving into the heart of Rachmaninoff’s emotional depth with a selection of ten preludes and romances arranged for solo piano by the renowned Earl Wild. Each piece is a journey through the composer’s soul, conveying a range of emotions from love and longing to introspection and melancholy. The program will include the following compositions:


  1. Dreams, Op. 38 No. 5
  2. The Little Island, Op. 14 No. 2
  3. To the Children, Op. 26 No. 7
  4. On the Death of a Linnet, Op. 21 No. 8
  5. In the Silent Night, Op. 4 No. 3
  6. O, Cease Thy Singing, Op. 4 No. 4
  7. Midsummer Nights, Op. 14 No. 5
  8. Do Not Grieve, Op. 14 No. 8
  9. Where Beauty Dwells, Op. 21 No. 7
  10. Floods of Spring, Op. 14 No. 11


Following the intermission, Anton Igubnov-Dudley Hall will take the audience on a captivating musical journey through Rachmaninoff’s “Symphonic Dances,” Opus 45, skillfully arranged for solo piano by the artist himself. These dances are a magnificent testament to Rachmaninoff’s orchestral brilliance, showcasing his signature lush harmonies and evocative melodies. The four movements of the “Symphonic Dances” are as follows:

  1. Non Allegro
  2. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
  3. Lento assai
  4. Allegro vivace

Dudley Recital Hall, University of Houston

Click here for Livestream.