Skip to main content

University of Houston Economics Ph.D. Alumni Conference

Date: Friday & Saturday, August 20-21, 2021

Location: Virtual

Registration deadline: August 16, 2021

Program: Download Here

Friday, August 20
(all times are U.S. Central time)

9:30 a.m.

Introduction and Logistics

9:35 a.m.

Sharon Xuejing Zuo (2016; Prof. E. Liu; Assistant Professor, Fudan University, China) FDI Liberalization and Occupation Mobility: Evidence from China

10:10 a.m.


10:15 a.m.

Gautham Udupa (2018; Prof. K. Yi; Director, CAFRAL, Reserve Bank of India)
Dollar Liquidity, Trade Invoicing and Real Effects: Evidence from India

10:50 a.m.


10:55 a.m.

Somdeep Chattterjee (2016; Profs. A. Chin and G. Ujhelyi; Assistant Professor, IIM Lucknow, India) “Passing the Buck! – Do Individual Biases Affect Measures of Confidence in Public Institutions?

11:30 a.m.


11:35 a.m.

Vadym Volosovych (2006; Profs. S. Kalemli-Ozcan and B. Sorensen; Associate Professor, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands) “Corporate Acquisitions and Bank Relationships

12:10 p.m.

“Welcome Remarks” Dietz Vollrath, Chair, Economics Department

12:20 p.m.


12:40 p.m.

Mevlude Akbulut-Yuksel (2009; Prof. A. Chin; Professor, Dalhousie University, Canada) “Expressway to Power: Infrastructure Projects and Political Support

1:15 p.m.


1:20 p.m.

Sophia Kazinnik (2017; Prof. D. Papell; Senior Quantitative Analyst, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond) “Let’s Face It: Quantifying the Impact of Nonverbal Communication in FOMC Press Conferences

1:55 p.m.


2:00 p.m.

Zoom breakout rooms I

Saturday, August 21
(all times are U.S. Central time)

9:25 a.m.


9:30 a.m.

Panel I: Career and Work as an Economist in Private or Multilateral Institutions

Elisabetta Gentile (2011; Prof. D. Vollrath; Economist, Asia Development Bank)

Saumya Rana (2019; Prof. V. Maheshri; Economist, Welch Consulting)

Shreya Bhattacharya (2020; Prof. W. Friedman; Economist, Amazon)


10:45 a.m.

Zoom Breakout Rooms 2

11:15 a.m.

Panel II: Leadership Roles

Paula Arce-Trigatti (2014; Prof. A. Chin; Director, National Network of Education Research-Practice Partnerships, Rice University)

Claude Lopez (2003; Profs. C. Murray and D. Papell; Head of Research, Milken Institute)

H. Stephen Grace, Jr. (1970; Profs. G. Shatto and H. Steele; President, HS Grace & Company, Inc.)


12:30 p.m.

“Department Progress Over Time”; Prof. Steve Craig, Economics Department

12:50 p.m.

“Recent Changes in the Ph.D. Program” Kei-Mu Yi, DGS, Economics Dept

1:05 p.m.

Concluding Remarks