PhD Job Candidates 2014-2015

Placement Director

Bent Sørensen
Graduate Director
(713) 743-3841
besorensen@uh.edu

Placement Coordinator
Ms. Amber Pozo
Graduate Program Administrator
(713) 743-3805
apozo@uh.edu

 

Name

Fields / 
Job Market Paper

Advisors /
References

Arce-asghari

Mahboobeh Asghari

 
832-491-2681
masghari@uh.edu 
Website

Finance, Time Series Modeling, Macroeconomics

"Did speculation cause greater volatility in oil prices?"

Dietrich Vollrath

Bent Sorensen

Chris Murray

 

Arce-Trigatti

Christopher Biolsi

 
347-880-0394
cjbiolsi@central.uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy, Monetary Policy, Business Cycle Analysis, Applied Econometrics

"Local Effects of a Military Spending Shock:  Evidence from Shipbuilding in the 1930s and 1940s"

David Papell

Bent Sorensen 

Steve Craig

 

david

David Bostashvili

 
832-567-3067
dnbostashvili@uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Political Economy, Public Finance, Experimental Economics

"Bureaucratic Institutions and Political Budget Cycles in American State Governments"

Steve Craig

Elaine Liu

 

randall

Randall Crouch

 
832-489-0886
rwcrouch@uh.edu
Website
CV

Labor Economics, Health Economics and Law and Economics

“Labor Economics, Health Economics and Law and Economics”

Steve Craig

Elaine Liu

 

gupta

Ashmita Gupta

 
832-312-1538
agupta16@uh.edu
Website
CV

Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Development Economics

“Effect of Trade Liberalization on Gender Inequality - A Case of India”

Chinhui Juhn

Elaine Liu

Aimee Chin


 

volodymyr

Voldymyr Korsun

 
281-995-3345
vvkorsun@uh.edu
Website
CV

Growth and Development, International Finance, Empirical Econometrics

"Poland and The EU: Closer is Better"

Bent Sorensen

Dietrich Vollrath

Andrea Szabo

Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan

wen

Wen Long

 
713-955-7005
wlong@uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Macroeconomics, Consumer Behavior, Applied Econometrics

“Bargain Hunting and Best Price: Evidence from Retail Scanner Data”

Bent Sorensen

Steven Craig 

Dietrich Vollrath

randy

Ryan Ruddy

 
810-265-2515
rruddy@uh.edu
Website
CV

 

Labor Economics,  Education Economics, Health Economics

"Family Resources and Secondary School Investment: Evidence from the Housing Boom"

Andrew Zuppann

Chinhui Juhn

Aimee Chin