PhD Job Candidates 2015-2016

Placement Director

Bent Sørensen
Graduate Director
(713) 743-3841
besorensen@uh.edu

Placement Coordinator
Amber Pozo
Graduate Program Administrator
(713) 743-3805
apozo@uh.edu

Name

Fields / 
Job Market Paper

Advisors /
References

Abramava

Nadya Abramava

 
832-526-5374
nabramava@uh.edu
WebSite
CV

Growth and Development, Trade, Political Economy

"Determinants of Growth: Should We Protest?"

Dietrich Vollrath

David Papell

Bent Sorensen

Ao

Chon-Kit Ao

 
713-471-1726
cao@uh.edu
Website
CV

Labor Economics, Development Economics, Economics of Education, Applied Microeconomics

"The Effect of Municipal Water Filtration on Children's School Enrollment and Employment in American Cities, 1880-1920"

Aimee Chin

Elaine Liu

Chinhui Juhn

Chatterjee

Somdeep Chatterjee

 
832-661-4859
schatterjee2@uh.edu
Website
CV

Microeconomics, Development Economics, Political Economy and Applied Econometrics

"Effects of Agricultural Credit Reforms on Farming Outcomes: Evidence from the Kisan Credit Card Program in India"

Aimee Chin

Gergely Ujhelyi

Chinhui Juhn

Dhar

Amrita Dhar

 
203-585-7599
adhar2@uh.edu
Website
CV

International Economics, Monetary Policy, Macroeconomics, Applied Econometrics

“Capital Flows and Emerging Market Economies”

David Papell

Bent Sorensen

Dietrich Vollrath

Hsu

Mike Yuwei Hsu

 
213-327-6588
yhsu2@uh.edu
Website
CV

Trade, Economic Growth, Empirical Macroeconomics

"Shipping Cost and Aggregate Productivity Growth"

Dietrich Vollrath

Bent Sorensen

German Cubas

Ruxandra Boul

Smith

Jacob Smith

 
563-580-7931
Jacob.BL.Smith@gmail.com
Website
CV

Applied Time Series, Monetary Policy, Financial Econometrics

"Trend and Cycle in the Yield Curve"

David Papell

Christian Murray

Ruxandra Boul

German Cubas

Tseng

Tzu-Yin Hazel Tseng

 
832-638-6238
ttseng4@uh.edu
Website
CV

Health Economics, Labor Economics, Development Economics, and Applied Microeconometrics

"The Hidden Costs of Natural Disasters: In Utero Environment and Mental Health in Adulthood"

Elaine Liu

Aimee Chin

Chinhui Juhn