Legislative Branch - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Legislative Branch

The Legislative power of the Student Government Association is vested in the Student Senate. Through legislation, the Senate works toward improving the student experience at the University of Houston.

The Speaker of the Senate is elected from within the Senate and presides over general meetings of the Senate, heads the Legislative Branch, assigns senators to standing committees, and sets meeting agendas and times. Other Senate officers include the Speaker Pro-Tempore (who presides over the Senate in the absence of the Speaker) and committee chairs.

Six (6) undergraduate At-Large and four (4) graduate At-Large senators are elected by the entire student body. Every college elects representation in the Senate based on the student population. Each of the Senators serves on at least one of the standing committees of the Senate.