Skip to main content

IRB Committee 2

IRB Committee 2 is responsible for the full review of human subjects research protocols for:

  • C.T. Bauer School of Business
  • McGovern College of the Arts
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (CLASS), with the exception of HHP 
  • Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture & Design
  • Graduate College of Social Work
  • Hilton College of Hotel & Restaurant Management
  • UH Law Center
IRB 2 also reviews submissions not affiliated with a specific college (e.g., Division of Research Centers and Institutes, Health and Wellness, Library)

IRB2 does not review FDA-regulated research.

Full Committee

Submission Deadlines IRB 2 Meeting Date
Friday, August 14, 2020 Friday, August 28, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020 Friday, September 25, 2020
Friday, October 19, 2020 Friday, October 23, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020 Friday, November 20, 2020
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 Friday, December 11, 2020
Friday, January 8, 2021 Friday, January 22, 2021
Friday, February 12, 2021 Friday, February 26, 2021
Friday, March 12, 2021 Friday, March 26, 2021
Friday, April 9, 2021 Friday, April 23, 2021
Thursday, May 14, 2021 Friday, May 28, 2021
Friday, June 11, 2021 Friday, June 25, 2021
Friday, July 9, 2021 Friday, July 23, 2021
Friday, August 23, 2021 Friday, August 27, 2021

*Dates are subject to change without notice if circumstances require rescheduling.

Expedited Review

Protocols falling under an expedited category and involving no more than minimal risk, as well as minor changes in approved full board protocols, may be reviewed under an expedited process. The Chair of IRB 2 either reviews or delegates the review to one or more experienced IRB members, who review the protocol under applicable regulations and either approves or requires modifications to the protocol prior to approval. An expedited reviewer may not disapprove a protocol, but may forward to the fully convened committee for further determination if warranted. Expedited submissions are considered on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.  

Exempt Status

Protocols falling under an exempt category defined under the federal regulations require administrative review by the IRB office to ensure that basic ethical principles, such as confidentiality of data and obtaining informed consent where applicable, are addressed. Applications for exempt protocols are reviewed by IRB staff on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.