Skip to main content

IRB Committee 2

IRB Committee 2 is responsible for the full review of human subjects research protocols for:

  • C.T. Bauer School of Business
  • McGovern College of the Arts
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (CLASS), with the exception of HHP 
  • Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture & Design
  • Graduate College of Social Work
  • Hilton College of Hotel & Restaurant Management
  • UH Law Center
IRB 2 also reviews submissions not affiliated with a specific college (e.g., Division of Research Centers and Institutes, Health and Wellness, Library)

IRB2 does not review FDA-regulated research.

Full Committee

Submission Deadlines IRB 2 Meeting Dates
Friday, July 8, 2022 Friday, July 22, 2022
Friday, August 12, 2022 Friday, August 26, 2022
Friday, September 9, 2022 Friday, September 23, 2022
Friday, October 14, 2022 Friday, October 28, 2022
Friday, November 4, 2022 Friday, November 18, 2022
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 Friday, December 9, 2022
Friday, January 13, 2023 Friday, January 27, 2023
Friday, February 10, 2023 Friday, February 24, 2023
Friday, March 10, 2023 Friday, March 31, 2023
Friday, April 14, 2023 Friday, April 28, 2023
Thursday, May 12, 2023 Friday, May 26, 2023
Friday, June 9, 2023 Friday, June 23, 2023
Friday, July 14, 2023 Friday, July 28, 2023
Friday, August 11, 2023 Friday, August 25, 2023

*Dates are subject to change without notice if circumstances require rescheduling.

Expedited Review

Protocols falling under an expedited category and involving no more than minimal risk, as well as minor changes in approved full board protocols, may be reviewed under an expedited process. The Chair of IRB 2 either reviews or delegates the review to one or more experienced IRB members, who review the protocol under applicable regulations and either approves or requires modifications to the protocol prior to approval. An expedited reviewer may not disapprove a protocol, but may forward to the fully convened committee for further determination if warranted. Expedited submissions are considered on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.  

Exempt Status

Protocols falling under an exempt category defined under the federal regulations require administrative review by the IRB office to ensure that basic ethical principles, such as confidentiality of data and obtaining informed consent where applicable, are addressed. Applications for exempt protocols are reviewed by IRB staff on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.