Skip to main content

IRB Committee 2

IRB Committee 2 is responsible for the full review of human subjects research protocols for:

  • C.T. Bauer School of Business
  • McGovern College of the Arts
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences (CLASS), with the exception of HHP 
  • Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture & Design
  • Graduate College of Social Work
  • Hilton College of Hotel & Restaurant Management
  • UH Law Center
IRB 2 also reviews submissions not affiliated with a specific college (e.g., Division of Research Centers and Institutes, Health and Wellness, Library)

IRB2 does not review FDA-regulated research.

Full Committee

Submission Deadlines IRB 2 Meeting Date
Friday, August 13, 2021 Friday, August 27, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021 Friday, September 24, 2021
Friday, October 8, 2021 Friday, October 22, 2021
Friday, November 5, 2021 Friday, November 19, 2021
Wednesday, November 26, 2021 Friday, December 10, 2021
Friday, January 14, 2022 Friday, January 28, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022 Friday, February 25, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022 Friday, March 25, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022 Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, May 13, 2022 Friday, May 27, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022 Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, July 8, 2022 Friday, July 22, 2022
Friday, August 12, 2022 Friday, August 26, 2022

*Dates are subject to change without notice if circumstances require rescheduling.

Expedited Review

Protocols falling under an expedited category and involving no more than minimal risk, as well as minor changes in approved full board protocols, may be reviewed under an expedited process. The Chair of IRB 2 either reviews or delegates the review to one or more experienced IRB members, who review the protocol under applicable regulations and either approves or requires modifications to the protocol prior to approval. An expedited reviewer may not disapprove a protocol, but may forward to the fully convened committee for further determination if warranted. Expedited submissions are considered on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.  

Exempt Status

Protocols falling under an exempt category defined under the federal regulations require administrative review by the IRB office to ensure that basic ethical principles, such as confidentiality of data and obtaining informed consent where applicable, are addressed. Applications for exempt protocols are reviewed by IRB staff on a rolling basis, thus turnaround time for these submissions is expected to be quicker than for protocols undergoing full board review.