Boards and Committees - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Boards and Committees

Energy Advisory Board

The Energy Advisory Board engages industry experts and leaders to advance energy education and research. Energy is one of the key initiatives of the University of Houston, together with the arts and health. The Energy Advisory Board is a volunteer board appointed by President Renu Khator. Contributing to the University of Houston as “the energy university,” board members enhance research initiatives and energy education on campus and throughout the city.

Learn More

Board of Visitors

The University of Houston’s Board of Visitors is a leadership group of private sector opinion leaders and University advocates that serves to advance the University of Houston and improve the University’s image in Houston and throughout the region. Board of Visitors members represent a broad array of expertise, interests and connections and serve as ambassadors and strategic partners for the University.

Learn More

National Development Council

Transitioning from the historic “Here, We Go” Campaign, the National Development Council is a new volunteer committee focused on the University of Houston fundraising efforts. This diverse cohort of visionaries, prominent community stakeholders and industry leaders is philanthropically invested in the future of the University of Houston, lending their expertise and influence to support the advancement of the University’s priorities and goals.

Members are key in developing and positioning the funding priorities and will focus on informing and supporting philanthropic priorities and objectives tied to the Top 50 initiatives; serve as knowledgeable ambassadors able to articulate the case for support of the University of Houston; broker connections between significant prospects and University leadership; invest in collaborating on high-impact conversations and plans in support of the current philanthropic priorities; and, provide financial support in an area most meaningful to them.


  • Marvin E. Odum III (M.B.A. ’95), Chair
  • Durga D. Agrawal (M.S. ’69, Ph.D. ’74)
  • Kim Clarke (’81)
  • Andy Gessner (’68)
  • Barbara Gessner
  • Bill J. Jackson (J.D. ’92)
  • Aylwin Lewis (’76, M.B.A. ’90)
  • Beth Madison (’72)
  • Lillie Robertson
  • Wilhelmina E. “Beth” Robertson
  • Bill Swenson (J.D. ’87)
  • Cyvia G. Wolff