University of Houston Alumni Association to Host 61st Annual Awards Gala

May 2 Gala Honors Alumni Achievements in Business and Service

The University of Houston Alumni Association (UHAA) will recognize distinguished alumni at the 61st Annual Awards Gala on May 2 at the Westin Houston Memorial City (945 Gessner Rd.). The black tie affair begins with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by a dinner and program at 7:30 p.m.

The 2015 honorees include nationally and locally prominent leaders in their fields—from CEOs to radio and television personalities—as well as individuals who have a history of service to the University and community. Distinguished Alumni Awards will be presented to attorney and former Cougars quarterback Ken Bailey (’69, J.D. ’72), Potbelly Sandwich Shop President and CEO Aylwin Lewis (’76, M.B.A. ’90), “Steve Harvey Show” executive producer Rushion McDonald (’83), East West Bank chairman and CEO Dominic Ng (’80) and Houston Rockets play-by-play announcer Bill Worrell (’69). The 2015 UHAA Distinguished Service Award recipient is CenterPoint Energy Enterprise Risk Manager Laurie Rutherford (’86, M.B.A. ’91, M.S. ’04). Willbros Group Chairman and CEO John T. McNabb and ShoreGroup Inside Sales Manager Drue DaSilva have been named Outstanding Volunteer Award recipients. ESPN anchor Robert Flores (’92) will receive UHAA’s 2015 Rising Star Award, and the current UH student body has been named the 2015 Chairs Award recipient.

WHAT: UHAA 61st Annual Awards Gala to honor distinguished alumni in business, service and contribution to the University.

WHO: Individual tickets are $200. For ticket information or to make a reservation, visit

WHEN: Saturday, May 2. Reception at 6:30 p.m., dinner and program at 7:30 p.m.

WHERE: Westin Houston Memorial City (945 Gessner Rd.), Complimentary valet parking provided.

For more information on the 61st Annual Awards Gala, please visit

For more information on UHAA or any of its programming, please visit or call 713-743-9550.