Skip to main content

About Us

The mission of Office of the Faculty Engagement and Development (FED) is to support and increase student success by promoting, supporting, and fostering a culture of excellence through the comprehensive development of the UH faculty. The FED provides resources to support growth in teaching proficiency and effectiveness, successful faculty career progress, research productivity, and service to the University and broader communities. Professional development is supported at all stages of faculty careers and for all faculty groups, including actively promoting existing opportunities for professional development.

Our Team:

Leslie A. Coward, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
Faculty Engagement and Development
lcoward@uh.edu
713-743-2762

JeBreyah Chevis
Program Manager
Faculty Engagement and Development
jachevis@uh.edu
713-743-7216

Office Location:
Office of Facutly Engagement and Development
Faculty Café
E. Cullen Building - Ground Floor, Suite 33
713-743-7809

Faculty Engagement and Development Advisory Board:

The Advisory Board of the Center for Faculty Engagement and Development represents the faculty in a faculty-driven and administratively-supported initiative for Faculty Engagement and Development. The Board is an advocate for enhancing student success and serves a constituency concerned with teaching and learning, research, service, and maintaining a culture of faculty excellence: full-time and part-time faculty, adjunct faculty, graduate teaching assistants, administrators, and graduate and undergraduate students. The Board also serves as a resource to the Executive Director: consulting on programs and mentoring; assisting with understanding UH culture, policies, and priorities; liaising to University and external constituencies; identifying UH and community resources; and serving in other capacities as needs are identified.

Current FED Advisory Board Members:

Advisory Board Member Term Date Email Address
Carl Boger 9/1/2021 - 8/31/2024 cboger@uh.edu
Rachel Bush 9/1/2021 - 8/31/2024 rbush3@uh.edu
Keith Butcher 9/1/2021 - 8/31/2024 kbutcher3@uh.edu
Wenli Gao 9/1/2021 - 8/31/2024 wgao5@uh.edu
Melissa Markofski 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2025 mmarkofski@uh.edu
Rachel Rump 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2025 rfedfern@uh.edu
Lauren Simpson 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2025 ljsimpson@uh.edu
Anna Vershynina 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2025 avershynina@uh.edu
Margaret Hale 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2026 mhale@uh.edu
Diana De La Rosa-Pohl 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2026 ddelarosa2@uh.edu
Frene LaCour-Chestnut 9/1/2022 - 8/31/2026 flacourc@uh.edu
MariVi Tejada-Simon  9/1/2022 - 8/31/2026 mvtejada-simon@uh.edu