Skip to main content

News Archives

HHP at the 2012 Annual TACSM Meeting.

HHP faculty and students will attend the annual meeting of the Texas Regional Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM) at the JJ Pickle Research Center in Austin on March 1st and 2nd 2012.

Brian McFarlin

TACSM president-elect Dr. Brian McFarlin
will become the active president at TACSM 2012

Led by Dr. Brian McFarlin the HHP contingent includes students Whitney Breslin, Katie Carpenter, and Nadia Agha (undergrad) who will be presenting posters. Nadia has also been selected as the TACSM Major of the Year. At the conclusion of the meeting Dr. McFarlin will officially become the active president for TACSM.

Katie Carpenter

File photo of HHP grad student Katie Carpenter

HHP's Texas Obesity Research Center will be represented by Heather Leach. Heather is receiving a TACSM Student Development Research Grant to support her dissertation project.

HHP emeritus faculty Dr. Andrew "Tony" Jackson will be giving a lecture and accepting a plaque to honor Michael Pollock his collaborator on the original skin fold equation.


The purpose of the Texas Regional Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM) is to fulfill the objectives and purposes of ACSM as appropriate at the regional level.

ACSM LogoThe American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) is a multi-disciplinary professional and scientific society dedicated to the generation and dissemination of knowledge concerning the motivations, responses, adaptations and health aspects of persons engaged in sport and exercise.