Skip to main content

News Archives

HHP at the 2012 Annual TACSM Meeting.

HHHP faculty Dr. Brian McFarlin has been appointed to the American College of Sports Medicine's Research Awards Committee for a three year term starting in 2012.

Brian McFarlin

Dr. Brian McFarlin  

Led by Dr. Brian McFarlin the HHP contingent includes students Whitney Breslin, Katie Carpenter, and Nadia Agha (undergrad) who will be presenting posters. Nadia has also been selected as the TACSM Major of the Year. At the conclusion of the meeting Dr. McFarlin will officially become the active president for TACSM.

The Research Awards Committee reviews all applications for the ACSM New Investigator, Visiting Scholar, and Tipton National Student Research Awards and selects recipients of these awards on a yearly basis.

Dr. McFarlin is also the president of the Texas Regional Chapter of the American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM)


The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) is the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. With more than 45,000 members and certified professionals worldwide, ACSM is dedicated to advancing and integrating scientific research to provide educational and practical applications of exercise science and sports medicine.    

ACSM LogoACSM promotes and integrates scientific research, education and practical applications of sports medicine and exercise science to maintain and enhance physical performance, fitness, health and quality of life.