Skip to main content

People

Faculty | Instructors and Affiliate Faculty | Emeritus Faculty | Staff

Faculty

Cynthia A. Freeland

Cynthia A. Freeland, John and Rebecca Moores Professor
(713) 743-3206
cfreeland@uh.edu
501 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Michigan State University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Aesthetics, Ancient Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy
Website

Gregory A. Brown

Gregory A. Brown, Professor
(713) 743-3202
gbrown@uh.edu
509 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A. University of Hawaii
M.A., Ph.D., University of Maryland
History of Early Modern Philosophy, History and Philosophy of Science
Website


Cameron Buckner

Cameron Buckner, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-3079
cjbuckner@uh.edu
506 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., B.S. Texas Tech University
Ph.D. Indiana University, Bloomington
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Digital Humanities
Website


D. Justin Coates

D. Justin Coates, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-3010
djcoates@uh.edu
504 Agnes Arnold Hall

Ph.D. University of California, Riverside 2012
Ethics, Philosophy of Action
Website

James W. Garson

James W. Garson, Professor
(713) 743-3205
jgarson@uh.edu
502 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Haverford College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Logic, Modal Logic, Formal Semantics, Computational Linguistics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Mathematics
Website

Helen Hattab

Helen Hattab, Associate Professor
(713) 743-4147
hhattab@uh.edu
507 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Trenton State College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania Early Modern Philosophy, Renaissance Philosophy, Renaissance and Early Modern Science, Medieval Philosophy
website

Christy Mag Uidhir

Christy Mag Uidhir, Associate Professor
(713) 743-4458
cmaguidhir@gmail.com
510 Agnes Arnold Hall

Ph.D. Rutgers University
Philosophy of Art & Aesthetics, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind
Website

David K. Phillips

David K. Phillips, Professor and Chair
(713) 743-3120
dphillips@uh.edu
511 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Oxford
M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University
Ethics, History of Ethics
Website

Tamler Sommers

Tamler Sommers, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Adviser
(713) 743-3032
tssommers@uh.edu
514 Agnes Arnold Hall

B. A. (English), University of Pennsylvania

Ph.D. (Philosophy), Duke University
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Free Will and Moral Responsibility
Website

Josh Weisberg

Josh Weisberg, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
(713) 743-3200
jweisberg@uh.edu
515 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., New York University
M.A., Ph.D., City University of New York
Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science
Website

Instructors and Affiliate Faculty

Edwin Aiman

Edwin Aiman, Instructor
654 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3632
eaiman@uh.edu

Carl Feierabend

Carl Feierabend, Instructor
505 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3208
dividedlinegames@gmail.com

Curtis Haaga

Curtis Haaga, Instructor
654 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3632
chaaga@uh.edu

Johanna Luttrell

Johanna Luttrell, Post-Doctoral Visiting Scholar, Political Philosophy
Hobby Center for Public Policy
320 McElhinney Hall & 516 Agnes Arnold Hall

Ph.D., University of Oregon 2013
B.A., DePaul University
jluttre2@central.uh.edu

Iain Morrison

Iain Morrison, Instructional Assistant Professor (Honors College)
204c M.D. Anderson Memorial Library
(713) 743- 9022
imorrison@uh.edu

Vanessa Voss

Vanessa Voss, Lecturer
501 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3010
vavoss2@central.uh.edu

Emeritus Faculty

  • William H. Austin, Professor Emeritus B.A., Wesleyan University; B.D. Yale University; Ph. D., Yale University
    Philosophy of Religion, Inductive Logic and Decision Theory
    waustin410@comcast.net

  • Anne Jaap Jacobson, Professor Emeritus B.A., University of California at Berkeley, B.Phil., D.Phil., Oxford University
    Philosophy of Mind, History of Modern Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Metaphysics, Epistemology 
    Website  ajjacobson@uh.edu

  • Bredo C. Johnsen, Professor Emeritus B.A., Wayne State University, Ph.D., Harvard University
    Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind
    bredoj@yahoo.com

  • William N. Nelson, Professor Emeritus
    B.A., Harvard University, Ph.D., Cornell UniversityEthics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law 
    Website wnelson@uh.edu

Staff

Jacklyn Vela

Bobbie Sue Schindler, Academic Advisor
518 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-4145
bschindler@uh.edu 

Students

All Graduate Students

Teaching Assistants

avoss2@central.uh.edu