Amundson Lecture Series - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Amundson Lecture Series


About Neal Amundson

"The highlights of my career lie in having some very successful students. They're like your own children."

Neal R. Amundson, Cullen Professor of Chemical Engineering & Mathematics at the UH, is widely regarded as the most prominent Chemical Engineering educator in the U.S. His honors and awards are legion. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering., and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He received the NAE's Founders Award, honorary doctorates from the Universities of Minnesota, Notre Dame, Pennsylvania, Guadalajara, and Northwestern University. He received the Farfel Award, the highest faculty honor given by the University of Houston. The building that houses the Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science at the University of Minnesota was named "Amundson Hall" in 1979.

Dr. Amundson is recognized as an exceptionally prolific, innovative and influential ChE researcher. His contributions include modeling and analysis of chemical reactors, separation systems, polymerization, and coal combustion. He has had a profound, pioneering impact on the education of chemical engineers, changing the teaching of the field from a qualitative, descriptive approach to precise scientific methodologies.

A native of St. Paul, Minnesota, Neal R. Amundson received a bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering, a master's degree in chemical engineering and a doctorate in mathematics from the University of Minnesota. Professor Amundson remained at the University of Minnesota, teaching both chemical engineering and mathematics. In 1949 he became head of the department of chemical engineering and continued for the next 25 years. Dr. Amundson joined UH Chemical Engineering Department in 1977 and also served as UH Provost from 1987 to 1989.

Neal R. Amundson is an influential chemical engineer and mathematician, who has helped shape future outlooks in the field of chemical engineering. His legacy will live on in the minds and hearts of all those who knew him, as well as serve as inspiration for those to come.

Amundson Lecture Series

2005 - Professor Martin Feinberg (Ohio State University)
2007 - Professor Daniel D. Joseph (University of Minnesota)
2008 - Professor Jerrold Marsden (California Institute of Technology)
2009 - Professor Emmanuel Candes (California Institute of Technology)
2011 - Professor Laurent Younes (Johns Hopkins University) 
2013 - Professor Douglas N. Arnold (University of Minnesota)
2015 - Professor Olivier Pironneau (Pierre and Marie Curie University)
2018 - Professor Andrea L. Bertozzi (University of California Los Angeles)
2020 - Professor Roman Vershynin (University of California, Irvine)