DSAES honors departments, staff in annual end-of-year awards ceremony - University of Houston
Skip to main content

July 21, 2022

The Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Services honored more than 20 staff members and departments for their exemplary work during the 2021 fiscal year this week. The 10th annual DSAES awards, which was held on Monday, July 19, “honors those who exemplify the division’s commitment to supporting student success.”

In a first for the annual awards celebration, DSAES staff members could attend the festivities in person at the Student Center, or they could tune in via livestream.

Dr. Daniel Maxwell, associate vice president for student affairs, helped host the “summer soirée” and thanked each nominee for their hard work over the past year as the COVID-19 pandemic disrupted in-person services before campus began a cautious return to normal.

“Each year we make the time to recognize our collective good work through peer nominations and our awards,” Maxwell said. “I am always impressed with the caliber of our programs and activities, but this year was incredibly special. Throughout the many professional and personal challenges due to the pandemic, you still thrived and made a difference for students and community. Thank you.”

The awards committee received 97 nominations for this year’s awards. Nominations were judged by a volunteer committee:

  • David Shattuck, Faculty Senate President Elect
  • Shanequea White, Staff Council President
  • Arsalan Darbin, SGA President
  • LaTasha Stoker, Senior HR Business Partner, Human Resources
  • JoBeth Lira, Senior Recruiter, Human Resources

The awards program was spearheaded by the Professional Development Committee within DSAES, particularly the three chairs:

  • Cassandra Joseph, Center for Fraternity and Sorority Life
  • Courtney McElroy, Student Housing & Residential Life
  • Jeremy Sanford, Admissions

The 2021 winners of the annual DSAES End-of-Year Awards:

Cougar Spirit Award
Sharon Pesquera, Student Housing & Residential Life

Diversity & Inclusion Award
The HIVE, Women & Gender Resource Center

Outstanding Committee Contribution Award
Professional Development Committee
Dr. Scott Radimer & Anneliese Bustillo

Excellence in Programming Award
Latinas REACH (Realizing Educational Attainment as a Community of Hermanas)
Women & Gender Resource Center, Counseling & Psychological Services, Student Outreach & Support

Friend of the Division Award
Toni Sanchez Benoit, Assistant Vice President for Access, Equity, & Diversity

Graduate Assistant Award
Ailin Fei, CSI

Impact Award
Scott Sawyer, Office of the University Registrar

Outstanding Administrative Assistant/Support Staff Award
Counseling & Psychological Services Front Desk Staff

Outstanding Assessment Award
Student Centers Assessment Team

Outstanding Marketing & Communication Award
Daily Digest Email and Report Refresh, Integrated Enrollment Services and Enrollment Services Communication and Marketing

Outstanding New Professional Award
Heli Patel, Student Housing & Residential Life

Outstanding Professional Award of Excellence
Janet Clemenson, Counseling & Psychological Services

Student Employee Award of Excellence
Joy Williams, Center for Student Involvement

Student Leader Award of Excellence
Donna Keeya, Student Housing & Residential Life

Student Success Award
Residential Life Staff Team, Student Housing & Residential Life

Ambassador Award
Keith Kowalka, Division of Student Affairs & Enrollment Services

Tier One Customer Service - Individual Award
Nicole Robinson, Student Health Center