Center for Public History
University of Houston
337 McElhinney Hall
Houston, TX 77204-3007
(713) 743-3039

Facebook Logo

Center for Public History Faculty and Staff

The Center for Public History draws on the rich faculty resources of the Department of History, the University of Houston, and the wider Houston community to offer our students unique classroom, research, and outreach opportunities. These faculty members have expertise in the fields of energy, environmental, legal, policy and urban history and a wide variety of public history experiences.

 

Faculty

Martin Melosi

Martin Melosi
Executive Director, Center for Public History
Distinguished University Professor of History
(713) 743-3090
mmelosi@uh.edu

Joseph Pratt

Joseph Pratt
Director, Houston History Project
Editor-in-chief, Houston History
Coordinator, Energy Management and Policy Group (EMAP)
Cullen Chair of History and Business
(713) 743-3088
joepratt@uh.edu

Monica Perales

Monica Perales
Assistant Director and Program Coordinator, Center for Public History
Co-director, Houston Food History Project
Associate Professor of History
(713) 743-3103
mperales3@uh.edu

Staff

Aimee Bachari
Associate Editor, Houston History
(713)743-3123
allheureux@uh.edu
Debbie Harwell
Managing Editor, Houston History
(713)743-3123
dzharwell@uh.edu
Wyndham Bailey
Program Coordinator, Center for Public History
(713)743-3039
wibailey@uh.edu
Teresa Tomkins-Walsh
Director, Houston History Archives
(713) 743-9991
tomkinswalsh@uh.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Carroll Parrott Blue
Research Professor
Texas Learning and Computation Center
University of Houston
cpblue@uh.edu
Temple Northup
Assistant Professor
Jack J. Valenti School of Communication
University of Houston
temple@uh.edu
Kathleen A. Brosnan
Travis Chair of History
University of Oklahoma
kbrosnan@ou.edu
(405) 325-8046
Tyler Priest
Associate Professor
Department of History
University of Iowa
tyler-priest@uiowa.edu
Julie Cohn
Research Historian
jacohn@uh.edu
Raul Ramos
Associate Professor of History
(713) 743-3116
rramos@uh.edu 
Terrell Dixon
Associate Professor
Department of English
University of Houston
tfdixon@uh.edu
Todd Romero
Co-director, Houston Food History Project
Assistant Professor of History
(713) 743-3112
tromero2@uh.edu
James Granato
Director
Hobby Center for Public Policy
University of Houston
jgranato@uh.edu
Michelangelo Sabatino
Associate Professor
Hines College of Architecture
University of Houston
msabatino@uh.edu 
Frank Holt
Professor of History
(713) 743-3127
fholt@uh.edu
James Schafer
Assistant Professor of History
(713) 743-3119
jschafer@uh.edu
Karl Ittmann
Associate Professor of History
(713) 743-3102
kittmann@uh.edu
Helen Valier
Coordinator, Medicine and Society
Assistant Professor, Honors College
University of Houston
hkvalier@uh.edu
William Kellar
Independent Consultant
wkellar@gmail.com
Eric Walther
Professor of History
(713) 743-3101
ewalther@uh.edu
Susan Kellogg
Professor of History
(713) 743-3085
skellogg@uh.edu
Mark Young
Archivist, Hospitality Industry Archives
Conrad Hilton College
University of Houston
markyoung@uh.edu
Kairn Klieman
Associate Professor of History
(713) 743-1306
kklieman@uh.edu
Nancy Beck Young
Department Chair and Professor of History
(713) 743-3085
nyoung2@uh.edu
Louis Marchiafava
Independent Consultant
 
Natalia Milanesio
Assistant Professor of History
(713) 743-3113
nmilanesio@uh.edu 

Visiting Scholars

visiting scholars 2013

The Center for Public History is pleased to welcome our visiting scholars for 2012-2013.

Thomas Zhang (zlzhanglan@hotmail.com) is a history professor from Jiangxi Normal University of Science and Technology in China. Educated at Fudan University, Thomas has fifteen years of teaching and research experience in US history. He also is Vice-director of modern world history teaching and research section at his university. Thomas will spend the year studying environmental history.

Teresa Spezio (tsspezio@Central.UH.EDU) holds a PhD in history from UC Davis, an MA in Environmental Studies from the University of Oregon, and a BS in Chemical Engineering from Case Western Reserve. She will spend her year as CPH Visiting Scholar revising her dissertation, “Rising Tide: The Santa Barbara Oil Spill and Its Aftermath.”

Richard Mizelle (rmmizelle@fsu.edu) Assistant Professor of History at Florida State University. He received his PhD from Rutgers University. His first book, Backwater Blues: The 1927 Mississippi Flood, Cultural Representations of Disaster and Mobility in New Deal-era America, will be published by the University of Minnesota Press in 2014. He also co-edited a book entitled, Resilience and Opportunity: Lesson from the U.S. Gulf Coast after Katrina and Rita (2011), and is conducting research on Sugar Diabetes: Medical Entitlement, High Technology, and the Cultural Landscape of Diabetes in America. Rick will teach a graduate course on race, health, and the environment for Spring 2013 and direct the Environmental History Workshop.

Isabelle Parmentier (isabelle.parmentier@fundp.ac.be) will be with CPH from January 3 through March 30, 2013. Isabelle is a Lecturer in history at the University of Namur in Belgium. She received her doctorate from the University of Louvain, and is the author or editor of five books. Active in environmental history in Europe and having administrative experience in international programs, Isabelle will deepen her study of environmental history and work on an article focusing on environmental justice and NIMBYism while at UH. Isabelle is joined in Houston by he husband, Francois, and their two teenage daughters attending Lamar High School.

David Nye, professor of history at the University of Southern Denmark and winner of the Leonardo da Vinci Prize in the history of technology will join us for a couple of days in April.

Simo Laakkonen, professor of history at the University of Helsinki, will be a visiting professor briefly in June. We will have more information about presentations at a later time.