Skip to main content

Latino Faculty Council

The Latino Faculty Council consists of Latino faculty who are engaged in advocating the interests of the Latino Community on campus. It includes faculty from a variety of disciplines to include law, education, social science, literature, mathematics, science, social work and optometry. The Council meets once a month or as needed, advises the U of H administration on relevant matters and sponsors speakers from academia and the community at large.

Dr. Consuelo Arbona

Consuelo Arbona

Position: Professor
Department: Psychological Health and Learning Sciences
Address: 3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 410
Phone: 713-743-9814
Email: carbona@uh.edu

Estevan Azcona

Estevan Azcona

Position:  Adjunct Lecturer
Department:  Center for Mexican American Studies
Address:  3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 323
Phone: 713-743-3136
Email: scazcona@uh.edu

Gabriela Baeza Ventura

Gabriela Baeza Ventura

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 424
Phone: 713-743-2609
Email: gbventura@uh.edu

Veronica Bernal

Veronica Bernal

Position: Clinical Supervising Fellow
Department: Law Center
Address: 4604 Calhoun Road, Teaching Unit 2 Room 56
Phone: 713-743-6442
Email: vebernal@central.uh.edu

Lorenzo Cano

Lorenzo Cano

Position: Associate Director
Department: Center for Mexican-American Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 323
Phone: 713-743-3133
Email: lcano@uh.edu

Edwin Carrasquillo-Molina

Edwin Carrasquillo-Molina

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Chemistry
Address: 3585 Cullen Boulevard, Fleming Building Room 139G
Phone: 713-743-3230
Email: mcarrasquillo@uh.edu

Jason Casellas

Jason Casellas

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Address: 3551 Cullen Boulevard, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall Room 447
Phone: 713-743-8714
Email: jcasellas@uh.edu

Virmarie Correa-Fernandez

Virmarie Correa-Fernandez

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Psychological, Health and Learning Sciences
Address: 3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 411
Phone:   713-743-0334
Email: vcorreafernandez@uh.edu

Jeronimo Cortina

Jeronimo Cortina

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Address: 3551 Cullen Boulevard, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Room 447
Phone: 713-743-3894
Email: jcortina2@uh.edu

Lisa Cruces

Lisa Cruces

Position: Librarian/Archivist
Department: University Libraries
Address: 4333 University Drive, M. D. Anderson Memorial Library Room 261K
Phone: 713-743-9903
Email: ecruces@uh.edu

cuesta-mabel.jpg

Mabel Cuesta

Position: Assistant Professor of US Latino and Caribbean Literature
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard Room 423
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: mcuesta@uh.edu

Guillermo De Los Reyes

Guillermo De Los Reyes

Position: Associate Professor of Latin American Literature and Culture/Associate Director
Department: Hispanic Studies/ Women’s Gender & Sexuality Studies Program
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard Room 430
Phone: 713-743-3716
Email: jdelosreyes@uh.edu

Alan Dettlaff

Alan Dettlaff

Position: Dean
Department: Social Work
Address:  3511 Cullen Boulevard, Social Work Building Room 212
Phone: 713-743-7819
Email: ajdettlaff@uh.edu

ellis-a.jpg

Amanda Ellis

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: English
Address:  3687 Cullen Boulevard Room 205, Houston TX 77204-3013
Phone: 713-743-3004
Email: amandavictoriaellis@gmail.com

Marta Fairclough

Marta Fairclough

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 440
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: mfairclough@uh.edu

Elizabeth Farfán-Santos

Elizabeth Farfán-Santos

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Comparative Cultural Studies
Address: 3623 Cullen Boulevard, McElhinney Hall Room 260C
Phone:    No phone available
Email: efarfans@central.uh.edu

Mark Goldberg

Mark Goldberg

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: History
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 545
Phone: (713) 743-3091
Email: magoldberg@uh.edu

Jorge Gonzalez

Jorge E. Gonzalez

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Psychological Health and Learning Sciences
Address: 3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 485
Phone: 713-743-7286
Email: jegonzalez14@uh.edu

Maria Gonzalez

Maria C. Gonzalez

Position: Associate Professor
Department: English
Address: 3687 Cullen Boulevard, Roy G. Cullen Building Room 236C
Phone: 713-743-2938
Email: mgonzalez@uh.edu

Alejandra Gonzales-Perez

Alejandra Gonzalez-Perez

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 419
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: magonzalez-perez@uh.edu

Paul Guajardo

Paul Guajardo

Position: Associate Professor
Department: English
Address: 3687 Cullen Boulevard, Roy G. Cullen Building, Room 232A
Phone: 713-743-3199
Email: pg@uh.edu

Sandra Guerra Thompson

Sandra Guerra Thompson

Position: Alumnae College Professor/Director of the Criminal Justice Institute
Department: Law Center
Address: 4604 Calhoun Road, Bates Law Building Room 128
Phone: 713-743-2134
Email: sguerra@uh.edu

Manuel Gutierrez

Manuel J Gutiérrez

Position: Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 432
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: mjgutierrez@uh.edu

Pedro Gutierrez Revuelta

Pedro Gutierrez Revuelta

Position: Professor
Department:  Hispanic Studies
Address:  3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 428
Phone:  713-743-3064
Email:  revuelta@uh.edu

Arturo Hernandez

Arturo Hernandez

Position: Professor
Department: Psychology
Address: 3695 Cullen Boulevard, Heyne Building Room 239b
Phone: 713-743-8354
Email: aehernandez@uh.edu 

hernandez-daphne200.jpg

Daphne Hernandez

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Department of Health and Human Performance
Address: 3875 Holman St., Rm 104 Garrison, Houston, TX 77204-6015
Phone: 713-743-9058
Email: dherna32@Central.UH.EDU

Marie Theresa Hernandez

Marie-Theresa Hernández

Position: Professor
Department: Modern & Classical Languages
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 610
Phone: 713-743-3074
Email: mherna18@central.uh.edu

Jose Hernandez

Jose Angel Hernandez

Position: Associate Professor
Department: History
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 643
Phone: 713-743-3126
Email: jahernandez27@uh.edu

Nicolas Kanellos

Nicolás Kanellos

Position: Brown Foundation Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 416
Phone: 713-743-3128
Email: kanellos@uh.edu

hinojos-s.jpg

Sara Hinojos

Position: Visiting Scholar
Department: Valenti School of Communications
Address: 3347 Cullen Blvd.Houston, TX 77204
Phone: 713-743-2873
rlopez2.jpg

Ruth M. Lopez

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Address: 3657 Cullen Blvd. Farish Hall, Suite 112, Houston, Texas 77204-5023
Phone: 713-743-9124

Rafael Longoria

Rafael Longoria

Position: ACSA Distinguished Professor
Department: Architecture
Address: 4200 Elgin Street, Gerald D. Hines Building Room 327
Phone: 713-502-5027
Email: longoria@uh.edu

Sarah Luna

Sarah Luna

Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
Department: Women's Studies Program
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 624A
Phone: 713-743-6434
Email: slluna@uh.edu

lugo-b.jpg

Monica Lugo

Position: Visiting Scholar
Department: Sociology
Address: 3551 Cullen Boulevard Room 450, Houston, TX 77204-3012
Phone: 713-743-3940
Email: betsabeth85@gmail.com

Juan M. Madera

Juan M. Madera

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Hotel & Restaurant Management
Address: 4450 University Drive, Conrad Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management Room S244
Phone: 713-743-2428
Email: jmmadera@uh.edu

Noe Marmolejo

Noe Marmolejo

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Music
Address: 3333 Cullen Boulevard, School of Music Building Room 146
Phone: 713-743-3191
Email: nmarmolejo@uh.edu

Tatcho Mindiola

Tatcho Mindiola

Position: Professor Emeritus
Department: Center for Mexican American Studies/Sociology
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 323
Phone: 713-743-3136
Email: tmindiola@uh.edu

delilah-montoya.jpg

Delilah Montoya

Position: Professor
Department: Art
Address: 4188 Elgin Street, Fine Arts Building Room 204B
Phone: 713-743-2855
Email: dmontoya2@uh.edu

Julian Olivares

Julian Olivares

Position: Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 434
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: jolivares@uh.edu

Michael Olivas

Michael A. Olivas

Position: William B. Bates Distinguished Chair in Law/Director-Institute for Higher Education Law & Governance
Department: Law Center
Address: 4604 Calhoun Road, Teaching Unit II Building Room 201G
Phone: 713-743-2078
Email: molivas@uh.edu

Norma Olvera

Norma Olvera

Position: Professor
Department: Psychological, Health, and Learning Sciences
Address: 3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 318F
Phone: 832-842-5925
Email: nolvera@uh.edu

Carlos Ordonez

Carlos Ordonez

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Computer Science
Address: 3551 Cullen Blvd, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall Room 571
Phone: 713-743-1013
Email: ordonezcs@uh.edu

Jaime Ortiz

Jaime Ortiz

Position: Vice Provost
Department: Global Strategies and Studies
Address: 4302 University Dr., Ezekiel W. Cullen Building Room 101
Phone: 713-743-7310
Email: jortiz22@uh.edu

Monica Perales

Monica Perales

Position: Associate Professor
Department: History
Address: 3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 564
Phone: 713-743-3103
Email: mperales3@uh.edu

Pablo Pinto

Pablo M. Pinto

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Political Science
Address: 3551 Cullen Boulevard, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall Room 431
Phone: 713-743-2540
Email: ppinto@central.uh.edu

Rachel Afi Quinn

Rachel Afi Quinn

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies and Comparative Cultural Studies
Address: 3623 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 624
Phone: 713-743-1339
Email: raquinn@uh.edu

Guadalupe Quintanilla

Guadalupe Quintanilla

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 421
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: gquintanilla@uh.edu

Sam Quintero

Sam Quintero

Position: Adjunct Associate Professor
Department: Optometry
Address: 4901 Calhoun Road, Health Biomedical Sciences Building Room 222
Phone: 713-743-1932
Email: squintero@uh.edu

Pamela Anne Quiroz

Pamela A Quiroz

Position:  Professor/Director
Department: Sociology/Center for Mexican American Studies
Address:  3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 323
Phone:  713-743-3134
Email:  paquiroz@uh.edu

Raul Ramos

Raul Ramos

Position: Associate Professor/Director of Undergraduate Studies
Department: History
Address: 3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 558
Phone: 713-743-3116
Email: raramos@uh.edu

Agustina Reyes

Agustina Reyes

Position: Professor/ Special Populations Program
Department: Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Address: 3657 Cullen Boulevard, Farish Hall Room 340
Phone: 713-743-5026
Email: areyes7@uh.edu

fr.png

Francisco C. Robles Hernandez

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Mechanical Engineering Technology
Address: 4730 Calhoun Road, College of Technology Building Room 230G
Phone: 713-743-8231
Email: fcrobles@uh.edu

marta-rodriguez.png

Marta Rodriguez

Position: Assistant Professor
Department: Architecture
Address: 4200 Elgin Street, Gerald D. Hines Building Room 122
Phone: 713-743-2400
Email: martar@uh.edu

Luis Salinas

Luis Salinas

Position: Professor
Department: Sociology
Address:  3551 Cullen Blvd., Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall 469
Phone: 713-743-3957
Email: lsalinas@uh.edu

Guadalupe San Miguel

Guadalupe San Miguel Jr.

Position: Professor
Department: History
Address:  3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 548
Phone: 713-743-3111
Email: gsanmiguel@uh.edu

Christina Sisk

Christina Sisk

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Blvd, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 418
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: clsisk@uh.edu

Maria Elena Solino

Maria Elena Soliño

Position: Associate Professor of Spanish Literature and Film
Department: Hispanic Studies
Address: 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Agnes Arnold Hall Room 420
Phone: 713-743-3007
Email: msolino@uh.edu

Thamar Solorio

Thamar Solorio

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Computer Science
Address: 3551 Cullen Blvd, Philip Guthrie Hoffman Hall Room 584
Phone:  713-743-5542
Email: tsolorio@uh.edu

Roberto Tejada

Roberto Tejada

Position: Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor
Department: English, Creative Writing; Art History
Address: 3687 Cullen Boulevard, Roy Cullen Building Room 231A
Phone: 713-743-5847
Email: rjtejada@central.uh.edu

Isabel Torres

Isabel Torres

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Graduate College of Social Work
Address: 3511 Cullen Boulevard, Social Work Building Room 409
Phone: 713-743-1753
Email: istorres@uh.edu

Luis Torres

Luis R. Torres

Position: Associate Professor
Department: Social Work
Address: 3511 Cullen Boulevard, Social Work Building Room 303
Phone: 713-743-8512
Email: lrtorres@uh.edu