Faculty

Anthopology Faculty

Ken Brown

Kenneth L. Brown, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Pennsylvania S 1975; Professor
Archeology, cultural ecology, historical archeology; Mesoamerica, African Diaspora
233 McElhinney Hall
713-743-3987
klbrown@uh.edu
Download CV

Andrew Gordon

Andrew J. Gordon, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Wisconsin 1975, MPH Harvard 1981; Associate Professor
Medical and Applied Anthropology, Urban Environments, International Development, Alcohol and Drug Studies; Latin America, West Africa, U.S. Cities
233 McElhinney Hall
agordon3@uh.edu
Download CV

Janis F. Hutchinson, Ph.D.

Janis F. Hutchinson, Ph.D.
Ph.D. U Kansas 1984; Professor
Physical and medical anthropology, human variation, race, racism and health, Urban US
McElhinney Hall, Room 258-D
jhutchinson@uh.edu
Download CV

Keith McNeal

Keith McNeal, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Emory University 2004, Associate Professor
Cultural anthropology, comparative religions, gender studies, globalization, ritual and performance, African and Hindu traditions in the Americas, Caribbean studies
233 McElhinney Hall 713-743-3802
kemcneal@uh.edu
Download CV

Susan J. Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Susan J. Rasmussen, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Indiana 1986; Professor
Religion, cultural theory, symbolism and the arts, gender, life course and aging; Africa
McElhinney Hall, Room 258-D
srasmussen@uh.edu
Download CV

Rebecca Storey, Ph.D.

Rebecca Storey, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Pennsylvania S 1983; Associate Professor
Physical and medical anthropology, human osteology and  demography; Mesoamerica
McElhinney Hall, Room 258-C
rstorey@uh.edu
Download CV

Randolph J. Widmer, Ph.D.

Randolph J. Widmer, Ph.D.
Ph.D. Pennsylvania S 1983; Associate Professor
Archaeology, human ecology; North American Mesoamerica 
McElhinney Hall, Room 225
rwidmer@uh.edu
Download CV


Office Coordinator Deidre Tubbs

Academic Advisor Landis Odoms

Dept of Comparative Cultural Studies 
University of Houston 

4800 Calhoun, Houston 
TX 77204-5020
tel (713) 743-3987
fax (713) 743-3798
Email : anthdept@central.uh.edu