Skip to main content

About Us

The mission of Office of the Faculty Engagement and Development (FED) is to support and increase student success by promoting, supporting, and fostering a culture of excellence through the comprehensive development of the UH faculty. The FED provides resources to support growth in teaching proficiency and effectiveness, successful faculty career progress, research productivity, and service to the University and broader communities. Professional development is supported at all stages of faculty careers and for all faculty groups, including actively promoting existing opportunities for professional development.

Our Team:

Lacey L. Schmidt, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Faculty Engagement and Development
lschimdt@uh.edu
713-743-6592

Leslie A. Coward, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
Faculty Engagement and Development
lcoward@uh.edu
713-743-2762

Office Location:
Office of Facutly Engagement and Development
Faculty Café
E. Cullen Building - Ground Floor, Suite 33
713-743-7809

Faculty Engagement and Development Advisory Board:

The Advisory Board of the Center for Faculty Engagement and Development represents the faculty in a faculty-driven and administratively-supported initiative for Faculty Engagement and Development. The Board is an advocate for enhancing student success and serves a constituency concerned with teaching and learning, research, service, and maintaining a culture of faculty excellence: full-time and part-time faculty, adjunct faculty, graduate teaching assistants, administrators, and graduate and undergraduate students. The Board also serves as a resource to the Executive Director: consulting on programs and mentoring; assisting with understanding UH culture, policies, and priorities; liaising to University and external constituencies; identifying UH and community resources; and serving in other capacities as needs are identified.

Current FED Advisory Board Members:

Advisory Board Member Term Date Email Address
Wynne Chin 9/1/2017 - 8/31/2020 wchin@uh.edu
David Shattuck 9/1/2017 - 8/31/2020 shattuck@uh.edu
Han Cheng 9/1/2017 - 8/31/2020 hcheng5@uh.edu
Sheara Williams Jennings 9/1/2017 - 8/31/2020 swillia8@Central.UH.EDU
Veronica Arrellano Douglas 9/28/2018 - 8/31/2021 viarella@Central.UH.EDU
JeAnna Abbott 9/28/2018 - 8/31/2021 JLAbbott@Central.UH.EDU
Lauren Simpson 9/28/2018 - 8/31/2021 ljsimpso@Central.UH.EDU
Rebecca A. George 9/1/2019 - 8/31/2022 rageorge@central.uh.edu
Romi Ghose 9/1/2019 - 8/31/2022 rghose@central.uh.edu
April Peters-Hawkins 9/1/2019 - 8/31/2022 apetersh@central.uh.edu
Cedric Tolliver 9/1/2019 - 8/31/2022 ctollive@central.uh.edu