Congratulations to Andrea Elizondo, Seth Howard, and Patrick Sears
Spring 2015 Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship Recipients

andrea seth patrick
Andrea Elizondo is a senior at the University of Houston double majoring in Liberal Studies and Political Science.
In spring 2015, Andrea interned in the office of Houston Crackdown, part of the Mayor's Office of Public Safety and Homeland Security.  After graduating in spring 2015, Andrea plans to pursue a MSW/PhD at the University of Houston's Graduate School of Social Work. She hopes to become a social worker and to have her research published in scholarly journals.

"This scholarship has allowed me to be one step closer to my goal and has inspired to give back to the community."

Seth Howard is a senior at the University of Houston majoring in Political Science.

In spring 2015, Seth interned in the office of Congressman Ted Poe.  After graduating in spring 2015, Seth will work to expand civic engagement at Lone Star College to all six main campuses.  His long term goal is to run for public office in order to continue his career in public service.

"I feel honored to be among the few who have received this scholarship. This has helped me and my wife tremendously as we have both sacrificed a lot to serve others and to be recognized in this manner is truly humbling."

Patrick Sears is a junior at the University of Houston double majoring in Philosophy and Political Science.

Patrick is a member of the Metropolitan Volunteer Program at UH where he actively participates in community outreach programs. After graduating in fall 2015, Patrick aims to pursue a career in law after earning a JD from the University of Texas Law School.

"This scholarship has lightened my financial burden which allows me to focus more on the most important aspect of school, learning."

Past Recipients

Stephanie Brooks, Political Science and Sociology major 
State Department, Lima, Peru, fall 2013

Sarah Aimadeddine, Political Science and Economics double degree
Hobby Fellow, State Representative Jim Murphy, spring 2013

Mathew Mendoza, Political Science major
Phi Alpha Delta, vice president 2013-2014

Miriah Soliz, Political Science major
University of Houston Student Government, executive director, August 2012-May 2013

Amir Tavakkoli, Political Science and Sociology major
Shami Farouk Campaign for Texas Governor, spring 2010 

Taylor Kilroy, Political Science and Public Relations major
City Councilmember Pam Holm, fall 2009