Skip to main content


The Jack J. Valenti School of Communication announces the availability of scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students majoring in Communication. Scholarships will be awarded for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Apply Now

Scholarship applications are due Wednesday, March 9, 2016 at 5pm.

The Marcus Ashley Stern Memorial Scholarship - for "needy journalism" student or students.

The George A. Kirksey Memorial Scholarships - awards for upper division (junior and senior) majors in communications who show potential for success and motivation in the “field of communication."

The Jack Gallagher Memorial Scholarship - (previously included an automatic internship at the Houston Post).  for full-time journalism juniors or seniors majors with a career objective in newspaper journalism; must show academic achievement and promise of success in print journalism.

The Morris Frank Memorial Scholarship - criteria for selection not stated in endowment. Morris Frank was columnist for the Houston Post and the Houston Chronicle and a well-known master of ceremonies. He also anchored a KTRH sports broadcast.

The Winius-Brandon/Bill Blumberg Memorial Endowed Scholarship - Must be a senior in the coming year to receive, "who shows the most promise as an ad copywriter or an art director." 

The Elizabeth Hale Calderon Memorial Scholarship - for demonstrated financial need, leadership qualities, interest in journalism, public relations, public affairs, and/or advertising, a certified junior, senior, or graduate-level , full-time, degree seeking student, who must enroll for a minimum of 12 hours(undergraduate) or 9 hours (graduate); must maintain 3.0 or better GPA. 

The Ralph Frede PR Scholarship -  to junior, senior, or graduate student in Public Relations with minimum 3.0 GPA in major; consideration to collegiate and community activities, financial need, and work experience. Selection from three faculty recommended finalists by PRSA committee.

The Speech Endowed Scholarship - no documentation other than scholarships in Speech Communication; requires full-time status (12 hours/semester).

Richard Uray Mass Communication Graduate Scholarship -  graduate students in mass communications area. Richard Uray was a long-time chair of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of South Carolina and executive manager of the South Carolina Broadcasters Association.

Dickie Scardino Journalism Scholarship -established by John L. Scardino, a prominent member of the Houston printing industry in memory of his son.

Pat Flaherty Scholarship - designated for students majoring in radio/TV news.

Conrad Hilton Scholarship - designated for Communication Major selected by School of Communication faculty

William W. Georgia Bryan Scholarship Endowment -  designated for a communication student undergraduate or graduate who "exhibits leadership qualities as determined by the School of Communication selection committee."

School of Communication Scholarship - has no specific criteria and depends on funding from yearly donations.