UH Community Involvement

Appendix A

Committee Memberships

QEP Topic Selection Committee

College/Unit	Member	Position
College of Business	Frank Kelley	Director of Undergraduate Programs
College of Education	Jacqueline Hawkins	Associate Professor, Associate Dean of Institutional Effectiveness and Outreach
College of Engineering	Stuart Long	Professor of Electrical Engineering, Associate Dean, Engineering and Honors College
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences	Sarah Fishman	Professor of History, Associate Dean
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences	Dudley Reynolds	Associate Professor of English
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics	Simon Bott	Associate Professor of Chemistry, Director of Undergraduate Affairs
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics	Larry Williams	Instructional Associate Professor of Biology, Immediate Past Chair of Undergraduate Council
College of Pharmacy	Julie Szilagyi	Associate Professor of Pharmacy, Director of Assessment
College of Technology	Enrique Barbieri	Professor and Chair, Department of Engineering Technology
Honors College	Ted Estess	Dean, Honors College
Faculty Senate	Steven Craig	Past President, Professor of Economics
Staff Council	Charles Henry	Immediate Past President, Staff Council
Student Government Association	Francisco Zelaya	Immediate Past President, Student Government Association
Committee Chair	Elaine Charlson	Exec. Associate Vice President, Academic & Faculty Affairs
Ex Officio Members	Jerry Strickland Edward Hugetz Brian McKinney Agnes DeFranco Chris Stanich Libby Barlow	Assistant VC, Liaison and Dir, SACS Reaffirmation of Accreditation Associate VC/VP, Planning/University Outreach Assistant VC/VP, Academic Program Management Assistant VP, Undergraduate Studies Executive Director, Plan/Spc Asst, Government Relations Executive Director, Academic and Institutional Information

QEP Planning Committee

College/Unit	Member	Position
College of Business	Wynne Chin	Professor of Decision & Information Sciences, President Elect, Faculty Senate
	Elizabeth Anderson Fletcher	Associate Dean, Associate Professor, Bauer College of Business (alternate)
College of Education	Jacqueline Hawkins	Associate Professor of EPSY, Department Chair
College of Engineering/Honors/ Research Council	Stuart Long	Professor of Electrical Engineering, Associate Dean
College of Engineering	Hanadi Rifai	Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences/Undergraduate Council	Sarah Fishman	Professor of History, Associate Dean
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences	Nestor Rodriguez	Professor of Sociology, Department Chair
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics	Arnold Eskin Jeff Morgan Donna Stokes	Professor of Biology & Biochemistry Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair Associate Professor of Physics
College of Technology	William Fitzgibbon Heidar Malki	Dean of College of Technology, Professor of Mathematics Associate Dean, Professor, College of Technology (alternate)
Faculty Senate	Joe Kotarba David Mazella	Professor of Sociology, President, Faculty Senate Associate Professor of English, Education Policy & Student Affairs Chair, Faculty Senate
Student Government Association	David Rosen Judah Johns	President, Student Government Association Regent Liaison, Student Government Association (alternate)
Division of Research	Don Birx	Vice President of Research, VC Research and Intellectual Property Management
Administration & Finance	Jim McShan Thomas Ehardt	Associate Vice President for Finance Director, Budget Administration and Analysis (alternate)
Committee Chair	Elaine Charlson	Exec. Associate Vice President, Academic & Faculty Affairs
Ex Officio Members	Jerry Strickland Edward Hugetz Brian McKinney	Assistant VC, Liaison and Dir, SACS Reaffirmation of Accreditation Associate VC/VP, Planning/University Outreach Assistant VC/VP, Academic Program Management
	Agnes DeFranco	Assistant VP, Undergraduate Studies
	Chris Stanich	Executive Director, Plan/Spc Asst, Government Relations
	Libby Barlow	Executive Director, Academic and Institutional Information
	Karen Weber	Program Manager, Office of Undergraduate Research
	Veronique Tran	Director, SACS QEP

QEP Planning Subcommittee Members

#1: Course-Based Research

Arnold Eskin, Professor of Biochemistry Sarah Fishman, Professor of History, Associate Dean William Fitzgibbon, Dean of Technology Heidar Malki, Associate Dean, Professor of Electrical Technology Dave Mazella, Associate Professor of English Jeff Morgan, Professor of Mathematics Hanadi Rifai (Chair), Professor of Civil Engineering Veronique Tran, Director SACS QEP

#2: Mentored Research

Simon Bott (Chair), Director of UG Affairs, Chemistry Department Judah Johns, Regent, Student Government Association Stuart Long, Associate Dean, College of Engineering and the Honors College Nestor Rodriguez, Professor of Sociology

#3: Workshops and Resources for Students and Faculty

Marjorie Chadwick, Executive Director, Writing Center Winsome Chee, Academic Support Assistant, Technology Jacqueline Hawkins (Chair), Associate Professor, Educational Psychology Tammy Hoskings, Assistant Director, Educational Technology Irene Ke, Assistant Librarian, Library Donna Stokes, Associate Professor of Physics Jeylan Yassin, Coordinator Institutional Effectiveness, Education

#4: Other Co-Curricular Activities

Brian Byrnes, Associate Professor of Theatre Agnes DeFranco, Assistant Vice President, Undergraduate Studies Rebecca Achee Thornton, Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of UG Affairs, Economics Karen Weber (Chair), Office of Undergraduate Research, Honors College

#5: Assessment Planning

Libby Barlow (Chair), Executive Director, Academic and Institutional Information Liz Anderson Fletcher, Assoc. Dean, Assoc. Professor, College of Business