# UNIVERSITY of HOUSTON

## OF THE FACULTY SENATE Minutes for May 08, 2024 Hybrid Meeting (Microsoft Teams and MD Anderson 306) 3pm – 5pm

**Members Present:** Melahat Almus, Whitney Breslin, Samuel Brower, Daniel Burleson, Arkadiusz Czader, Bret Detillier, Veronica Douglas, Medhat El Nahas, Lisa Farmer, Carla Ferrell, Rebecca Forrest, Tejendra Gill, Susie Gronseth, Priyanko Guchait, Kristen Hassett, Heidi Kennedy, Julia Kleinheider, Tony Liao, Teri Longacre, Holley Love, Patrick Lukingbeal, Dan Maxwell, Mardell Maxwell, Ana Medrano, Michael Murray, Andrew Joseph Pegoda, Daryl Robinson, Scott Sawyer, Lori Selzer, David Shattuck, Pattie Schrader, Jamie Thomas, Chad Wayne, David Womble, Carrie Young, Blerina Xhabli

**Members Absent:**, Julia Babcock, Barbara Carlin, Tim Council, Jerry Evans, Jeff Feng, Dustin Gish, Shonnita Leslie, Greg Morrison, Melissa Pierson, Todd Romero, James Simpson, Vincent Ng

Guest: J.R. Rao

#### I. Call to Order - The Committee was called to order by Mike Murray, UC Chair, at 3:02 PM

Minutes from the April 24, 2024 UC meeting were approved

## II. Welcome & Announcements

a) A message from the Faculty Senate President, Susie Gronseth

### III. UC Business

Proposal Status https://uofh.sharepoint.com/sites/uc/SitePages/Home.aspx

Proposals Submitted for the 2024-2025 UC Catalog Implementation Cycle: as of 05/02/2024

Proposal Category	Total	Recommendations*
Certificate	5	5
Course (includes 20 core related proposals)	241	241
Degree Program - Accelerated Degree	3	3
Degree Program – Bachelor's Degree/Major	29	29
Degree Program - Concentration/Track (sub-plans)	12	12
Minor	19	19
Policy	15	14
Total	324	323

\* Includes 10 withdrawn proposals

#### IV. Subcommittee Reports

- a. Breslin Subcommittee (Whitney Breslin, no report presented or submitted)
- b. Brower Subcommittee (Samuel Brower, no report presented or submitted)

- c. Burleson Subcommittee (Dan Burleson, no report presented or submitted)
- d. El Nahas Subcommittee (Medhat El Nahas, no report presented or submitted)
- e. Hassett Subcommittee (Kristen Hassett, no report presented or submitted)
- f. Mechanical Engineering department name change
  - Presented by Michael Murray & J.R. Rao and approved by UC in vote
- UC 3687 24S Mechanical Engineering department name change Mechanical Engineering

#### V. Old Business

a. Second reading to the recommended changes of the UC Bylaws – approved by UC.

## VI. New Business

## VII. Meeting Adjourned at 3:19 PM

#### Resources

a. **Meeting Location:** All meetings are held in room 306 (Faculty Senate Office), M.D. Anderson Library unless otherwise noted meetings are hybrid and have a Teams option.

## b. Scheduled meetings for 2023-2024:

Fall 2023: August 23 (orientation meeting), August 30, September 27, October 25, November 15, December 6 Spring 2024: January 24, February 28, March 27, April 24, May 8

## c. Helpful Websites:

- Undergraduate Committee: <u>www.uh.edu/undergraduate-committee/</u>
- Current (2023-2024) Undergraduate Catalog: <u>http://publications.uh.edu/index.php</u>
- UH Core Curriculum section: www.uh.edu/academics/corecurriculum/

## d. E-mail Listservs:

- i. UC General Membership: UNDERGRAD-COMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
- ii. UC Executive Committee: UC-EXEC@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
- iii. UC Subcommittees:
  - BRESLIN-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
  - BROWER-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU
  - <u>BURLESON-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU</u>
  - <u>ELNAHAS-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU</u>
  - HASSETT-SUBCOMMITTEE@LISTSERV.UH.EDU