Skip to main content


carbon tax


Aparna Mathur, resident scholar in economic policy studies at the American Enterprise Institute

aparna mathur

Aparna Mathur is a resident scholar in economic policy studies at the American Enterprise Institute. She has published several articles on energy economics policy and has testified before Congress government organizations including the Congressional Research Service and the Congressional Budget Office. She has taught at Georgetown University's School Of Public Policy and at the University of Maryland. She received her bachelor’s degree from Delhi University, her master’s degree in economics from Delhi School of Economics and a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Maryland, College Park. 

Kyle Danish, Partner, Van Ness Feldman L.L.P.

bob nordhaus

Kyle Danish is a partner in the Washington, DC, law firm of Van Ness Feldman, LLP, and advises clients on environmental and energy matters, with a special focus on regulation, permitting, enforcement, and legislation under the Clean Air Act, corporate climate strategy, and emissions trading-related transactions. His clients include energy companies, manufacturers, financial institutions, offset providers, think tanks, and industry coalitions. Danish received a bachelor’s degree from Haverford College, a Master’s degree from Princeton University, and his Juris Doctor from Temple University Law School. 

Marvin E. Odum, President, Shell Oil Company, Upstream Americas Director

marvin odum

Marvin E. Odum is president of Shell Oil Company and upstream director of Royal Dutch Shell’s subsidiary companies in the Americas. In addition to leading Shell’s upstream activities, his role involves engaging with public, private, media and non-governmental leaders on a wide range of energy policy issues. Odum is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, serves on the boards of the Business Roundtable and the American Petroleum Institute and is an executive committee member of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development. He is also on the Dean’s Council of the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, the advisory board of the Cockrell School of Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, and is vice chair of the Board of Visitors of the University of Houston. Odum earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from UT-Austin and a master’s degree in business administration from UH.

H. Leighton Steward, geologist, environmentalist, author, and retired energy industry executive

leighton steward

H. Leighton Steward is a geologist, environmentalist, author, and retired energy industry executive. He is the director of the CO2 Coalition, an organization created to educate thought leaders, policy makers, and the public about the contributions carbon dioxide and fossil fuels make to our lives and the economy. Steward has received numerous environmental awards, including the Environmental Protection Agency’s Environmental Excellence Award. He is chairman of the board of The Institute for the Study of Earth and Man at Southern Methodist University and a member of the Right Climate Stuff research team, comprised primarily of retired NASA scientists. He earned a master’s degree in geology from Southern Methodist University.

Moderated by:

Dave Fehling, Energy and Environment Reporter, Houston Public Media

dave fehling

Dave Fehling is Houston Public Media’s Energy and Environment reporter. He originally joined the station as part of StateImpact, a collaboration with KUT in Austin and National Public Radio. Fehling graduated from DePauw University with a degree in political science and has a background in investigative journalism. In addition to his role with the Houston Public Media news team, Fehling has taught broadcast journalism as a lecturer at the University of Houston.