Skip to main content

Teaching Excellence and Moores Professor Awards April 13, 2015

Dear UH Faculty and Staff,

I am pleased to announce the recommendations of the Faculty Excellence Awards Committee that honors the exceptional work of our faculty.  These awards, as well as the Esther Farfel Award, will be presented at the Faculty Excellence Awards Luncheon on April 30.  These outstanding individuals represent the best of our University, and I am proud to honor them with these well-deserved awards.


Teaching Excellence
This award is given to faculty in recognition of outstanding achievement in teaching.

Ashutosh Agrawal, Mechanical Engineering
Zachary Bray, Law
Catherine Horn, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Justin Kirkland, Political Science
C. Chet Miller, Management
Matthew Nicol, Mathematics
Jeffrey Rimer, Chemical Engineering
Jessica L. Roberts, Law

Provost’s Core
This award is given to faculty in recognition of outstanding teaching in the Core Curriculum.

Alessandro Carrera, Modern and Classical Languages
Eric Walther, History

This award is given in recognition of outstanding teaching by faculty instructors, clinical faculty, research faculty, artist affiliates, and lecturers.

Melahat Almus, Mathematics
Rebecca Forrest, Physics
Geoffrey A. Hoffman, Law
Maria Perez, Hispanic Studies
Johnathan Zecher, Modern and Classical Languages

Graduate Teaching Assistant
This award is given to graduate students in recognition of outstanding teaching.

Yashar Atefi, Marketing and Entrepreneurship
Rebecca Hallman, English
Ksenia Krylova, Management
Becky Smith, History

Group Teaching Awards
This award recognizes clusters of faculty in both formal and informal programs who demonstrate a strong commitment to teaching and student success, who have worked together collaboratively to improve student outcomes, and who demonstrate effective and innovative teaching. The award is presented to up to two faculty groups.

Heather Anderson, Clinical Sciences
David A. Berntsen, Clinical Sciences
Amber Gaume Giannoni, Clinical Sciences
William L. Miller, Clinical Sciences

Distinguished Leadership in Teaching Excellence
This award is given to a previous University of Houston Teaching Excellence Award Recipient who in 10 years or more of teaching has made sustained and significant contributions to education.

Sandra Guerra Thompson, Law

This five year renewable professorship is given to faculty who are outstanding in teaching, research, and service.

Arnold Guloy, Chemistry
Gemunu H. Gunaratne, Physics
Ramanan Krishnamoorti, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues on their achievements!

Paula Myrick Short