Skip to main content

Farfel Faculty Award Announcement April 30, 2014

Dear UH Faculty, Staff, and Students:

I am pleased to announce that Dmitri Litvinov, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School and John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, has been awarded the University of Houston 2014 Esther Farfel Award.

The Esther Farfel Award, which comes with a $10,000 cash prize, is the highest award UH bestows on a faculty member. The award is given in recognition of excellent teaching, research, scholarship, and service. The selection committee received numerous letters of support from Dr. Litvinov's colleagues, collaborators, and former students all of whom cite his many accomplishments and contributions to the University.

Dr. Litvinov is a world-renowned expert in nanomagnetic devices and materials for use in information technology and bioengineering. He holds 26 patents and has published a text book, as well as over 120 articles in peer-reviewed journals. Recently, he was elected as a fellow into the National Academy of Inventors for his contributions to the development of magnetic recording technologies. In addition, he has an exemplary record of service to the University and has served on several department, college and university committees, including prior service as President of the Faculty Senate.

Dr. Litvinov was presented with the Esther Farfel Award at a luncheon on Monday, April 28 where other faculty members were honored for teaching excellence, research, and scholarship. To see the list of recipients, please visit the Provost's website.

I want to congratulate this year's recipients and would also like to thank the nominators and members of the awards selection committees for preparing and reviewing the nominations.

Paula Myrick Short