Skip to main content

NSM Dean Search Update April 21, 2014

Dear College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Faculty and Staff:

I am pleased to announce that we have established the search committee for the Dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics. The committee is co-chaired by Dr. Joseph Tedesco, Elizabeth D. Rockwell Dean, Cullen College of Engineering and Dr. Scott Gilberston, M.D. Anderson Professor, Department of Chemistry. The other members of the committee include:

  • Dan Graur, John and Rebecca Moores Professor, Biology and Biochemistry
  • Preethi Gunaratne, Associate Professor, Biology and Biochemistry
  • Ognjen Miljanic, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • Ioannis Kakadiaris, Hugh Roy & Lillie Cranz Cullen Professor of Computer Science, ECE, and Biomedical Engineering
  • Robert Stewart, Director of Allied Geophysics Laboratory and Cullen Professor
  • Paul Mann, Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Garret Etgen, Professor, Department of Mathematics
  • Roland Glowinski, Cullen Professor of Mathematics and Mechanical Engineering
  • Margaret Cheung-Wyker, Associate Professor, Physics
  • Wei Kan Chu, Distinguished University Professor of Physics
  • Michael Harold, Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and M.D. Anderson Professor
  • Danny Ochoa, Ph.D. student, Biology and Biochemistry

The committee will be assisted by Alberto Pimentel from the executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates. Together, they will conduct all aspects of the search, including the review of applicants, initial interviews, campus interviews, and will recommend their preferred candidates to me. After identifying a strong pool of candidates, the committee will conduct interviews in a collaborative process with the college and campus community so everyone will have multiple opportunities to provide input.

I thank the search committee members for agreeing to serve on this important search.

Paula Myrick Short