Skip to main content

GCSW Dean Search Update April 21, 2014

Dear Graduate College of Social Work Faculty and Staff:

I am pleased to announce that we have established the search committee for the Dean of the Graduate College of Social Work. Dr. Robert McPherson, Dean of the College of Education, has agreed to chair the search committee. The other members of the committee include:

  • Andy Achenbaum, Professor of History and Social Work and Gerson David Collegiate Professor of Gerontological Social Work, Center for Drug and Social Policy Research
  • Allen Rubin, Kantambu Latting Endowed Professor of Leadership and Change
  • Sheara Williams Jennings, Associate Professor and Ph.D. Program Director
  • Sarah Narendorf, Assistant Professor of Social Work
  • Susan Rogers, Assistant Professor, College of Architecture
  • Luis Torres, Assistant Professor, Center for Drug and Social Policy Research
  • Donna Amtsberg, Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Jan Leger, Director of Student Affairs and Lecturer
  • Jamie Parker, Director of Field Education
  • William M. (Mel) Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer, The Council on Alcohol and Drugs Houston
  • Richard Wagner, Ph.D. student
  • Antonia Caliboso, MSW Student Association

The search committee will be assisted by Alberto Pimentel from the executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates. Together, they will conduct all aspects of the search, including the review of applicants, initial interviews, campus interviews, and will recommend their preferred candidates to me. After identifying a strong pool of candidates, the committee will conduct interviews in a collaborative process with the college and campus community so everyone will have multiple opportunities to provide input.

I thank the search committee members for agreeing to serve on this important search.

Paula Myrick Short