Dr. Arthur B. Weglein Wins the Maurice Ewing Medal

Dr. Arthur B. Weglein
Dr. Arthur B. Weglein, winner of the Maurice Ewing Medal from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Dr. Arthur B. Weglein, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Physics, Director of the Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program, and Professor of Reflection Seismology in the Departments of Physics and Geosciences, was unanimously chosen to receive the Maurice Ewing Medal from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists. The award recognizes Dr. Weglein’s work on the inverse scattering series and writing and teaching for the seismic industry.

The Maurice Ewing Medal is awarded to a person who, in the opinion of the Honors and Awards Committee and of the Board of Directors, is deserving of special recognition through having made major contributions to the advancement of the science and profession of exploration geophysics. He will be recognized in a ceremony this October.

Nicolás Kanellos Receives High Honor from Spain

Professor of Hispanic Studies Nicolás Kanellos received the "Cruz de la Orden de Isabel la Católica" in a private ceremony at the residence of the Consul General of Spain on May 20, 2016. To read more about the significance of the award, click here

Kanellos Spain Photo
Provost Paula Myrick Short pictured with (left to right) Nicolás Kanellos, The Honorable Enric Panés Calpe, Consul General of Spain and his wife, Bice Rinesi.

First Recipients of the Cullen Fellowship Travel Grant Announced

The Cullen Graduate Fellowship Travel Grant (CFTG) is a competitive fellowship program established to support graduate student travel to meetings, conferences, performances, and exhibits to showcase their research and scholarly work.  This travel grant program is designed both to enhance professional development opportunities for the students and to further promote the status of the University of Houston as a Carnegie-designated Tier One research university.

For the first quarter, the following individuals were selected as recipients of the grant:

Nadia Agha 

Chongyu Lu

Igor Bado 

Zakaria Mostafa  

John Gritton 

Seyed Parvasi

Gareth Hastings 

Yun Peng

Guanglian Hu 

Sarah Pina

Frances Joseph 

Yin Shu

Taylor Kelly 

Kenicia Wright

Milad Khorrami 



Travels with Shasta!

Send your photos of Shasta's travels to, tweet them @SashaProf , or share them with Provost Paula Myrick Short on facebook.

Shasta in Moscoq

Shasta is in front of St. Basil's Cathedral
in Moscow, Russia.

University News

The UH Law Center scored the highest percentage of graduates passing the February bar exam among the state's nine law schools. Thirty UHLC graduates took the exam for the first time with 25, or 83.33 percent, passing. "I am very proud of our graduates," said Dean Leonard M. Baynes. "Their strong showing on the February bar exam underscores their hard work and commitment as well as the outstanding education gained from Law Center faculty."

The National Endowment for the Humanities was so impressed by English Professor Lynn Voskuil’s proposal to complete her book on the historical and literary relationship between British gardens and imperialism during the nineteenth century that the federal agency offered to give Dr. Voskuil two grants. The NEH selected Dr. Voskuil’s proposal to receive a Fellowship as well as an Award for Faculty, making Dr. Voskuil the only U.S. scholar in 2015 to be honored with the coveted NEH “double win,” according to the NEH. Read the Full Story.

Erin Kelleher, assistant professor of biology and biochemistry in the University of Houston’s College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, is studying how genomes maintain stability through the evolution of mechanisms that allow fragments of DNA to jump from one place to another. Read the Full Story

Teaching & Learning alumna Mayra Miranda has been named one of the eight recipients for the 2016 Rookie Teacher of the Year Award from Fort Bend Independent School District. Miranda teaches sixth-grade science at Baines Middle School. "To receive this award not only brings me happiness and joy, it also represents an achievement to the beginning of my career," said Miranda. "This award demonstrates that hard works pays off and doing something you love just makes it a slight easier." Read the Full Story.

A collaborative project by UH College of Pharmacy (UHCOP), Cigna HealthSpring, and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) researchers was recognized with a Gold Medal at the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy's AMCP & Specialty Pharmacy Annual Meeting April 19-22 in San Francisco. The UHCOP-led project, which was partially supported by GSK, examined the factors contributing to prescription drug coverage among Medicare-enrolled Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease patients. Read the Full Story

Paula Myrick Short, Provost | | 832.842.0550 |
This is an official message sent by the University of Houston. To verify the validity of this message, visit or email